Quick Facts
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowThis resources is a searchable and browseable database of over 350,000 questions from more than 14,000 public opinion surveys conducted by more than 700 different organizations in the U.S. and abroad. Records include the question asked and the tabulated responses, as well as the name of the polling organization, date published, sample size and method of data collection.
- Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations DictionaryProvides definitions of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings. Includes terms from subject areas such as associations, education, the Internet, medicine
- Browser's Dictionary of Foreign Words and PhrasesProvides all you need to know to understand, pronounce and appreciate foreign words and phrases commonly used by speakers and writers of English.
- InfoPleaseProvides factual information. Includes atlas, encyclopedia, dictionary, thesaurus.
- The Oxford Dictionary of American QuotationsQuotations by Americans.
- Oxford Dictionary of English IdiomsContains idiomatic phrases and sayings. Features cross-references for quick reference.
- Oxford Dictionary of QuotationsOffers quotations from past and present – from the ancients of East and West to the global village of the 21st century.
- World FactbookProvides information on history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for world entities.
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary.Call Number: Latest at: Main Library 1 East - Reference Section Large 423.1 A187 (Current year)Publication Date: Annually since 1976
African American almanac : 400 years of triumph, courage and excellence by Call Number: Main Library Stacks 973.0496 B797aISBN: 35556043139468Publication Date: 2012
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations by Call Number: 808.8 B289f 2002 MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)ISBN: 0316084603Publication Date: 2002
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia by Call Number: Main Library 1 East - Reference Section PN41 .B4 2008ISBN: 9780060890162Publication Date: 2008- A dictionary of Classical Greek Quotations by Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN6080 .D53 2016ISBN: 35556046709069Publication Date: 2016
- Europa World Year BookCall Number: Latest in Main Library 1 East - Reference Section 314.2 E892. Older volumes in Main Library Stacks andPublication Date: Annually since 1926.
Pacific index of abbreviations and acronyms in common use in the Pacific Basin area by Call Number: 413 I96p MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)ISBN: 0723306699Publication Date: 1982
The World Almanac & Book of FactsCall Number: Latest at: 317 W92 MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)Publication Date: Annually since 1868.Many older volumes housed at Oak Grove Library Center.
Search tips: How to locate sources for Quick Facts in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for Quick Facts reference works include:
- Almanacs, American
- Quotations
- Learned institutions and societies --Directories
- Acronyms
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
-
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
