Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History
Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history.
Chambers Dictionary of World History
Entries provide coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.
Dictionary of Contemporary World History
Provides entries on the most important people, organizations and events that shaped history from 1900 to present day. Gives ‘global’ coverage. Provides coverage of European Union, avoids presenting ‘Euro-centric’ perspective of World History.
Dictionary of World History
Contains information on all aspects of history, from prehistory to present day. Includes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for each country, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places.
Historical Dictionary of Haiti
One of a number of historical dictionaries for the various counties of the world.
Search tips: How to locate History dictionaries in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for History dictionaries include:
- United States --History --Dictionaries
- History, Modern --20th century --Dictionaries
- Indians of North America --History --Dictionaries
- Civilization, Medieval --Dictionaries
- Middle Ages --Dictionaries
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
- Enter the search term(s) and click on the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the search box: