Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today. Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History
Compiles knowledge from paleoanthropology, archaeology, geology, and geography. Emphasis on cultural contact and social change over time and place. Includes arts, literature, religion, and science. Biographies of 100 leaders who shaped world history.
Dictionary of American History
Serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Offers a record of the nation’s values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought. Includes experiences of ordinary citizens in such arenas as reading and religious practice as well as the accomplishments of prominent artists and writers.
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes biographical profiles in politics, letters and the arts.
Environmental History and Global Change: A Dictionary of Environmental History
An introduction to the discipline is followed by almost 1,000 entries covering key terminology, events, places, dates, topics, as well as the major personalities in the history of the disciplin
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Covers geographical extent of European Middle Ages (including Germany and Austria, Spain and Portugal, the Low Countries, and Central and Eastern Europe), and major topics such as art, architecture, medicine, law, archaeology, ecclesiastical history, languages and literature.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History
Shifts the focus of historical interest to the experiences of ordinary people during great events and transformations in American history. Readers develop a framework for understanding the social experience of Americans throughout history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Offers overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. Covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries
Oxford Research Encyclopedias. American History.
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias. Latin American History
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
The Social History of the American Family: An Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia explore the vital role of the family as the fundamental social unit across the span of American history
Search tips: How to locate History encyclopedias in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for History encyclopedias include:
- World history --Encyclopedias
- Social history --Encyclopedias
- Middle Ages --Encyclopedias
- History, Ancient --Encyclopedias
- Caribbean Area --Encyclopedias
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
Reference Universe contains table-of-contents and index information for thousands of encyclopedias (as well as other works) allowing you to find an appropriate article on a specific topic. Just type in any word or phrase into this box: