Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Language Dictionaries
Middle English Compendium
Offers access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse. Includes links to e-resources.
The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms
The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms explores the meanings of idioms, including phrasal verbs such as "kick back", proverbs such as "too many cooks spoil the broth", interjections such as "tough beans", and figures of speech such as "elephant in the room".
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE).
DARE does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. It includes audio clips and quotations from the DARE Survey conducted 1965-1970, and an interactive map in addition to the maps that were included in the print version.
Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
With more than 7,000 definitions, this book provides a definitive guide to the use of slang today.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Provides meaning, history, and pronunciation of words from across the English-speaking world. Offers present-day meanings and history of individual words, and of the language.
Search tips: How to locate English language dictionaries in the library collections
Enter the following search in NUsearch: English language --Dictionaries:
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
- Enter the search term(s) and click on the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the search box: