Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides biographical and critical essays on lives, works, and careers of the world’s influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series
Major, award-winning encyclopedia, covering all aspects of Jewish religion and culture.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Surveys "the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society --from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory."
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
Entries provide a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.
Encyclopedia of Islam
The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Presents wide-ranging philosophical subjects. A first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
The Literary Encyclopedia
Major work, with substantial articles on literature across various languages and periods. Continuously updated.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Offers history of Western thought and culture. Entries explore origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Covers history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). Includes accounts of individual authors; details histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women
Information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of Islam and women. With more than 450 articles with a concentration on contemporary issues.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias. Religion.
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion combines the speed & flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers topics including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Provides accessible summaries at the beginning of every in-depth article.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Combines encyclopedia of philosophy with peer reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy.
Search tips: How to locate Humanities encyclopedias in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for Humanities encyclopedias include:
- American poetry --Encyclopedias
- Poets, American --Biography --Encyclopedias
- Translating and interpreting --Encyclopedias
- Comparative literature --Themes, motives --Dictionaries
- French literature --Dictionaries
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
Reference Universe contains table-of-contents and index information for thousands of encyclopedias (as well as other works) allowing you to find an appropriate article on a specific topic. Just type in any word or phrase into this box: