Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability.
. Focused on solutions, this interdisciplinary publication draws from the natural, physical, and social sciences. The result is a unified, organized, and peer-reviewed resource on sustainability that connects academic research to real world challenges and provides a balanced, trustworthy perspective on the global environmental challenges in the 21st century
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Continuing to cover the field as no other resource, the third edition crosses disciplines to examine fundamental nano principles, theories, and methodologies, as well is the latest information on nano-relevant properties.
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
Contains history of scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of USA and Europe. Includes cross-references and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
The Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.
Encyclopedia of Cell Biology
This important work includes 285 articles from domain experts covering every aspect of cell biology, with fully annotated figures, abundant illustrations, videos, and references for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Cloud Computing
Authored by a spectrum of subject matter experts in industry and academia, this publication covers a wide range of cloud computing topics, including technological trends and developments, research opportunities, best practices, standards, and cloud adoption.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
This encyclopedia provides a gateway to the complex facts, concepts, techniques, methodology and philosophy of environmental change and examines topics within this dynamic and rapidly changing interdisciplinary field.
Encyclopedia of Evolutionary Biology
Broad topics include the history of evolutionary biology; population genetics; quantitative genetics; speciation; life history evolution; evolution of sex and mating systems; evolutionary biogeography; evolutionary developmental biology;, molecular and genome evolution; coevolution; phylogenetic methods; microbial evolution; diversification of plants and fungi; diversification of animals; and applied evolution.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science.
This branch of the Earth sciences links ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion.
Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics
This comprehensive Encyclopedia covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research.
Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource
Considers professional ethics of science and technology, and ethical and political issues raised by science and technology.
Search tips: How to locate Science encyclopedias in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for Science encyclopedias include:
- Science --Dictionaries
- Technology --Dictionaries
- Engineering --Encyclopedias
- Science --Developing countries --History --Encyclopedias
- Science --Moral and ethical aspects --Encyclopedias
- Biology -- Encyclopedias
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
Reference Universe contains table-of-contents and index information for thousands of encyclopedias (as well as other works) allowing you to find an appropriate article on a specific topic. Just type in any word or phrase into this box: