Medicine & Health
- American Heritage Medical DictionaryContains most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Defines diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Includes entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications.
- Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd EditionA reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
- Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of NursingProvides in-depth coverage of a variety of topics in A-Z entries and appendices.
- Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & AbbreviationsPresents definitions for the medical acronyms and abbreviations that are used today.
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals. by Call Number: Mudd Library Stacks RS51 .M4 2013ISBN: 9781849736701Publication Date: 2013
Stedman's Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms and Symbols by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library Quick Reference W 13 S8119 2008ISBN: 9780781772617Publication Date: 2007
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version) by Call Number: Galter Health Sciences Library Quick Reference W 13 T113 2013ISBN: 9780803629776Publication Date: 2013
Search tips: How to locate medicine & health dictionaries in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for medicine & health dictionaries include:
- Medicine --Dictionaries
- Allied health personnel --Dictionaries
- Medicine --Abbreviations --Dictionaries
- Medicine --Acronyms --Dictionaries
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
- Enter the search term(s) and click on the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the search box:
