Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collins Dictionary of Astronomy
Reflects recent advances in astronomy and related fields.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
Defines terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics. Includes entries on major mathematicians and on general interest topics, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos. Includes graphs, diagrams, and charts.
Dictionary of Biology
Covers biology, biophysics, biochemistry, and key terms from medicine and palaeontology. Includes biographies of key scientists and articles on key topics. Chronologies chart developments in major fields. Includes entry-level web links.
Dictionary of Chemistry
Covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. Includes broad coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology; biographies on key figures; entries on major topics and chronologies. Includes entry-level web links.
A Dictionary of Computer Science
Providing comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, school, work, education, and the home, this fully revised dictionary is the ideal reference for students, professionals, and anyone who uses computers.
Dictionary of Ecology
Covers all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines. Includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.
Dictionary of Engineering Terms
Covers the areas of engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering. Includes illustrations.
Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences
Covers earth sciences including geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, planetary science, climatology, geochemistry, petrology, geomorphology and physical geography. Includes entry-level web links.
Dictionary of Physics
Covers physics terms and concepts, and terms from related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. Includes areas of applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience. Includes entry-level web links.
Penguin Dictionary of Science
A fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of the comprehensive and renowned Penguin Dictionary of Science. The Penguin Dictionary of Science covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing.
Search tips: How to locate Sciences dictionaries in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for Sciences dictionaries include:
- Science --Dictionaries
- Technology --Dictionaries
- Mathematics --Dictionaries
- Biology --Dictionaries
- Earth sciences --Dictionaries
- Ecology --Dictionaries
- Environmental sciences --Dictionaries
- Physics --Dictionaries
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
- Enter the search term(s) and click on the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the search box: