Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Includes entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history. New entries include definitions of landscape terms, and biographies of modern architects. Each entry offers mini-bibliography.
Harvard Dictionary of Music
Includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; articles on music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Near East; descriptions of instruments with historical background; and articles that reflect today’s beat.
Oxford Art Online (Contains Grove Art Online)
Access point for Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Features articles on varied topics, bibliographies. Searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations. Benezit covers lesser-known and famed artists, images of artists’ signatures, historical auction records, and lists of museum holdings.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access point for Grove Music Online and Oxford music resources. Offers ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources. Contains The Oxford Companion to Music with articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works.
A Dictionary of Film Studies
This volume covers all aspects of film studies, including critical terms, concepts, movements, national and international cinemas, film history, genres, practices, and key technical terms and concepts. It is an ideal reference for students and teachers of film studies and anyone with an interest in film studies and criticism.
A Dictionary of Modern Design
From Jacobsen to Tupperware, this dictionary of modern design covers the period from the mid-19th century to the end of the 20th century. Over 2000 entries on names and movements include ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors and fashion.
Oxford Dictionary of Art
Serves as a guide to art of the Western world. Provides a balance of fact and critical appraisal, ranging across painting, sculpture, and graphic arts from classical times to the present.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance
Covers all aspects of the dance world. Includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, plus biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Provides vocabulary of art in all its forms. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to present day.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers
Documents the universe of fashion from the mid-18th century through the late 1990s in short entries with many illustrations.
Search tips: How to locate arts dictionaries in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for arts dictionaries include:
- Architecture --Dictionaries
- Music --Dictionaries
- Art --Dictionaries
- Motion picture producers and directors --Biography --Dictionaries
- Clothing and dress --Dictionaries
- Fashion --Dictionaries
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
- Enter the search term(s) and click on the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the search box: