Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the important Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, in addition to an extensive collection of e-books and images on the world of fashion.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and several Oxford reference sources on art and architecture. The Grove Dictionary of Art is the most complete encyclopedia of art available in English, featuring nearly 50,000 articles on a variety of topics including art movements, artists biographies, and countries. Articles are signed, include brief bibliographies, and images. Images are searchable and made available through Oxfords partnerships with museums, galleries and arts organizations.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online includes The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, as well as Grove Music Online, the cornerstone of Oxford's online music reference collection.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
A survey of clothing, costume and fashion. Includes origins of clothing and body adornment, development of fabrics and technologies, social meanings of dress, and representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Provides coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include essays; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies and photographs.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Covers full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Includes entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Movies in American History: An Encyclopedia
This provocative three-volume encyclopedia is a valuable resource for readers seeking an understanding of how movies have both reflected and helped engender America's political, economic, and social history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Provides information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to latest developments around the globe. Covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions. Entries include definitions, genres and movements. Entries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism.
Search tips: How to locate Arts encyclopedias in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for Arts encyclopedias include:
- Clothing and dress --History --Encyclopedias
- World music --Encyclopedias
- Dance --Encyclopedias
- Art --Encyclopedias
- Aesthetics --Encyclopedias
- Theater --Encyclopedias
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list:
Reference Universe contains table-of-contents and index information for thousands of encyclopedias (as well as other works) allowing you to find an appropriate article on a specific topic. Just type in any word or phrase into this box: