Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grammar and Usage
American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
Provides guidance on English usage, grammar, and style. Entries include examples and quotations that show correct and incorrect usage plus relative effectiveness of different expressions in context.
Dictionary of Modern English Usage
The first edition of a classic reference work, published in 1926.
Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style
Provides guidance of usage of modern American English. Features real examples, good and bad, from sources such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Newsweek.
Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar
Provides grammatical terms and their meanings. Includes current terms of grammar and older, traditional names, controversial new coinages, and items from the study of other languages.
Search tips: How to locate Grammar and Usage works in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for Grammar and Usage reference works include:
- Authorship --Style manuals
- Editing --Handbooks, manuals, etc
- English language --Style --Handbooks, manuals, etc
- English language --Usage --Dictionaries
- English language --Grammar
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list: