Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition
Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Includes sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and citation guide.
A software program designed to store and manipulate bibliographic information. With EndNote you can store references in one place, keep reading notes linked to sources (no more index cards!), download citations directly from databases
automatically format bibliographies and citations in MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style, or other styles.
Citation Style Guides
Offers the following research and writing style guides: EndNote, Zotero, AMA Manual of Style, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA Style Guide, National Library of Medicine.
Zotero is a free bibliographic management system supported by the library.
Mendeley is a free bibliographic management system supported by the library.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: Main Library Core Reference - 2 North LB2369 .G53 2016, 7-Day loan, and several other locations.
Publication Date: 2016
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by
Call Number: 808.02 A179m 2008 MAIN Core (Reference) - 2 North Main Library - 7-Day Loan, and several other locations
Publication Date: 2008
Note: Though the most recent edition of the Style Manual, this does not reflect some major changes in the MLA Style introduced in the most recent MLA Handbook.
Search tips: How to locate sources for reference works on citing sources in the library collections
Some good searches in NUsearch for reference works on citing sources include:
- Authorship --Style manuals
- Social sciences --Authorship --Style manuals
- Psychology --Authorship --Style manuals
- Humanities literature --Authorship --Handbooks, manuals, etc
- Academic writing --Handbooks, manuals, etc
- Scholarly publishing --Handbooks, manuals, etc
- Printing --Style manuals
The above keyword searches can be run as NUsearch as subject searches by using the Browse search feature. To use the browse feature start at the main search page of NUsearch and follow these steps:
- Click the Browse search link above the search box:
- Select Subject to browse the subject list: