For more info...
-
Encyclopedia of the U.S. CensusThe history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population. See the entry under "History of Decennial Censuses". Includes bibliography for each census through 2010.
Raw Data Files
These are computer files intended to be loaded into statistical software for analysis and creating your own tables. In some cases these files can be used with spreadsheet software as well.
Population Schedules
1950 population schedules have not been released.
Census population schedules (or "name schedules" or "manuscript census") are copies of the original questionnaires collected during each decennial census. They list the individual names and family information of the people enumerated. Unlike the statistics published soon after the census, the population schedules remain confidential for 72 years. 1930 is the most recent population schedule available.
- Ancestry.comonline access to population schedules, search by name, place, and other characteristics
Contact
Need help? Use the Ask-A-Librarian reference service, or call us at (847) 491-7656, during Research Assistance Desk hours.
To consult with a government information specialist by appointment, contact govinfo@northwestern.edu
About the 1950 Census
Highlights of the 1950 Census
Highlights
- 17th decennial census
- US population: 150,697,361
- Illinois population: 8,712,176
Questions asked
Information obtained from all persons: Address; whether house is on farm; name; relationship to head of household; race; sex; age; marital status; place of birth; if foreign born, whether naturalized; employment status; hours worked during week preceding enumeration; occupation, industry, and class of worker.
Information obtained from 20-percent sample: Whether living in same house a year ago; whether living on a farm a year ago; if not in same house, county and state of residence year ago; country of birth of parents; educational attainment; school attendance; if looking for work, number of weeks; weeks worked last year; for each person and each family, earnings last year from wages and salary, from self-employment; other income last year; veteran status.
Information obtained from 3-1/3 percent sample: For persons who worked last year but not in current labor force: occupation, industry, and class of worker on last job; if ever married, whether married more than once; duration of present marital status; for women ever married, number of children ever born.
Supplemental schedules for persons on Indian reservations; infants born in the first 3 months of 1950; Americans overseas.
For more information:
- 1950 U.S. Census Publications Available in HathiTrust"HathiTrust contains many digitized reports from the 1950 census of population, and we’ve gathered key reports into this collection"
Statistics of the 1950 Census
Multi-year census compilations (compare across years): These sources tend to include statistics for large geographic areas (e.g. states), but can be very useful when comparing statistics over time.
Digitized Data Sources
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Hosted at the University of Minnesota, provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014. Open access to data, although users must create an account. - Social Explorer - subscription database, access to NU-affiliated users only.
Includes Census data 1790-present along with other datasets on health, crime, and other topics. US emphasis but other national data is also available. Data can be mapped or data tables extracted. - U.S. Census of Population: 1950: HathiTrust curated collection of digitized volumes
Key publications:
|
Print available in the Library |
Online access |
|
Census Of Population Vol. I: Number of Inhabitants |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol. II: Characteristics of the Population (54 parts) |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol III: Census Tract Statistics (64 pts) |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Employment and Personal Characteristics |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports.Occupational Characteristics |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports.Occupation by Industry |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Industrial Characteristics |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. General Characteristics of Families |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Institutional Population |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Marital Status |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Duration of Current Marital Status |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Nativity and Parentage |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Nonwhite Population by Race |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Persons of Spanish Surname |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Puerto Ricans in Continental United States |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. State of Birth |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Population Mobility - States and State Economic Areas |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Population Mobility - Farm - Nonfarm Movers |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Population Mobility - Characteristics of Migrants |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Characteristics by Size of Place. Gov Info Census |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Education Gov Info Census |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census Of Population Vol IV Special Reports. Fertility |
Links to digital copy in HathiTrust (see "View It" tab) |
|
Census of Housing Vol. I: General Characteristics |
|
|
Census of Housing Vol. II: Nonfarm Housing Characteristics |
|
|
Census of Housing Vol. III: Farm Housing Characteristics |
|
|
Census of Housing Vol. IV: Residential Financing, Mortgaged Nonfarm Properties |
|
|
Census of Housing Vol. V: Block Statistics (213 pts) |
Links to digital copy HathiTrust (use "View it" tab) |
|
Portfolio of United States Census Maps |