For more info...
-
Encyclopedia of the U.S. CensusThe history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population. See the entry under "History of Decennial Censuses". Includes bibliography for each census through 2010.
Population Schedules
Census population schedules (or "name schedules" or "manuscript census") are copies of the original questionnaires collected during each decennial census. They list the individual names and family information of the people enumerated. Unlike the statistics published soon after the census, the population schedules remain confidential for 72 years. 1930 is the most recent population schedule available.
- Ancestry.comonline access to population schedules, search by name, place, and other characteristics
- Census Records Online 1790-1950Open to all, hosted by the National Archives.
Raw Data Files
These are computer files intended to be loaded into statistical software for analysis and creating your own tables. In some cases these files can be used with spreadsheet software as well.
Contact
Need help? Use the Ask-A-Librarian reference service, or call us at (847) 491-7656, during Research Assistance Desk hours.
To consult with a government information specialist by appointment, contact govinfo@northwestern.edu
About the 1910 Census
Highlights of the 1910 Census
Highlights
- 13th decennial census
- US population: 91,972,266
- Illinois population: 5,638,591
Questions asked
Address; name; relationship to head of family; sex; race; age; marital status; number of years of present marriage; for women, number of children born and number now living; place of birth and mother tongue of person and parents; if foreign born, year of immigration., whether naturalized or alien, and whether able to speak English, or if not, language spoken; occupation, industry, and class of worker; if an employee, whether out of work on census day, and number of weeks out of work during preceding year; literacy; school attendance; home owned or rented; if owned, whether mortgaged; whether farm or house; whether a survivor of Union or Confederate Army or Navy ; whether blind or deaf and dumb. Supplemental schedules for the Indian population; blind; deaf; feeble-minded in institutions; insane in hospitals; paupers in almshouses; prisoners and juvenile delinquents in institutions.
For more information:
Statistics of the 1910 Census
Multi-year census compilations (compare across years): These sources tend to include statistics for large geographic areas (e.g. states), but can be very useful when comparing statistics over time.
Digitized Data Sources
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Hosted at the University of Minnesota, provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014. Open access to data, although users must create an account. - Social Explorer - subscription database, access to NU-affiliated users only.
Includes Census data 1790-present along with other datasets on health, crime, and other topics. US emphasis but other national data is also available. Data can be mapped or data tables extracted.
Key publications:
|
Print available in the Library |
Online access |
|
Vol I: Population. General Report and Analysis |
|
|
Vol II: Population. Reports by States: AL - MT |
|
|
Vol III: Population. Reports by States: NE - WY, AK, HI, and Porto Rico |
|
|
Vol IV: Population. Occupational Statistics |
|
|
Vol V: Agriculture. General Report and Analysis |
|
|
Vol VI: Agriculture. Reports by States with statistics for counties: AL - MT |
|
|
Vol VII: Agriculture. Reports by States with statistics for counties: NE - WY, AK, HI and Porto Rico |
|
|
Vol VIII: Manufactures. General Report and analysis |
|
|
Vol IX: Manufactures. Reports by States with statistics for principal cities |
|
|
Vol X: Manufactures. Reports for Principal Industries. |
|
|
Vol XI: Mines and Quarries. General Report and Analysis |
|
|
Abstracts with Illinois supplement |
|
|
Abstract |
|
|
Thirteenth census of the United States: 1910. Bulletin. Population: United States. Statistics of the Indian population -- Number, tribes, sex, age, fecundity, and vitality. Main Library Special Collections L Boas Pam D621t |
|
|
Statistical atlas of the United States |
|
|
Bulletin 127: Chinese & Japanese in the U.S.: 1910 |
|
|
Bulletin 129: Negroes In the U.S. |
|
|
Paupers in almshouses 1910. Gov Info Census C 3.2:P 28 |
n/a |
|
Handbook of federal statistics of children Main Library Special Collections Boas Pam U58355h |
n/a |
|
Wealth, debt, and taxation. |
n/a |