For more info...
-
Encyclopedia of the U.S. CensusThe history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population. See the entry under "History of Decennial Censuses". Includes bibliography for each census through 2010.
Population Schedules
Census population schedules (or "name schedules" or "manuscript census") are copies of the original questionnaires collected during each decennial census. They list the individual names and family information of the people enumerated. Unlike the statistics published soon after the census, the population schedules remain confidential for 72 years. 1930 is the most recent population schedule available.
- Ancestry.comonline access to population schedules, search by name, place, and other characteristics
- Census Records Online 1790-1950Open to all, hosted by the National Archives.
Raw Data Files
These are computer files intended to be loaded into statistical software for analysis and creating your own tables. In some cases these files can be used with spreadsheet software as well.
Contact
Need help? Use the Ask-A-Librarian reference service, or call us at (847) 491-7656, during Research Assistance Desk hours.
To consult with a government information specialist by appointment, contact govinfo@northwestern.edu
About the 1880 Census
Highlights of the 1880 Census
- 10th decennial census
- US population: 50,155,783
- Illinois population: 3,077,871
Questions asked
Address; nickname; relationship to head of family; sex; race; age; marital status; month of birth if born within the census year; married within the year; occupation; number of months unemployed during year; sickness or temporary disability; whether blind, deaf and dumb, idiotic, insane, maimed, crippled, bedridden, or otherwise disabled; school attendance; literacy; place of birth of person and parents. Supplemental schedules for the Indian population; for persons who died during the year; insane; idiots; deaf-mutes; blind; homeless children; prisoners; paupers and indigent persons.
For more information:
Map Coverage of the 1880 Census
For more information:
Statistics of the 1880 Census
Multi-year census compilations (compare across years): These sources tend to include statistics for large geographic areas (e.g. states), but can be very useful when comparing statistics over time.
Digitized Data Sources
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Hosted at the University of Minnesota, provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014. Open access to data, although users must create an account. - Social Explorer - subscription database, access to NU-affiliated users only.
Includes Census data 1790-present along with other datasets on health, crime, and other topics. US emphasis but other national data is also available. Data can be mapped or data tables extracted.
Key publications:
|
Print available in the Library |
Online access |
|
Statistics of the population of the United States |
|
|
Report on the manufactures of the United States Gov Info Census C 3/a. 10/ 5: 2 (reprint) |
|
|
Report on the production of agriculture Gov Info Census C 3/a. 10/ 5: 3 (reprint) |
|
|
Report on the agencies of transportation in the United States : including the statistics of railroads, steam navigation, canals, telegraphs, and telephones. |
|
|
Report on cotton production in the United States : also embracing agricultural and physico-geographical descriptions of the several cotton states and of California |
|
|
Report on valuation, taxation, and public indebtedness in the United States |
|
|
The newspaper and periodical press / by S.N.D. North. Alaska : its population, industries, and resources / by Ivan Petroff. The Seal Islands of Alaska / by Henry W. Elliot. Ship-building industry in the United States / by Henry Hall. |
|
|
Report on the forests of North America (exclusive of Mexico) / [compiled] by Charles S. Sargent, special agent tenth census. |
|
|
Production, technology, and uses of petroleum and its products / by S. F. Peckham. The manufacture of coke / by Joseph D. Weeks. Building stones of the United States, and statistics of the quarry industry for 1880. (Note: pages 713 and 795-812 missing from edition on Census website) |
|
|
Report on the mortality and vital statistics of the United States as returned at the tenth census (June 1, 1880) |
|
|
Statistics and technology of the precious metals |
|
|
The United States mining laws and regulations thereunder : and state and territorial mining laws, to which are appended local mining rules and regulations |
|
|
Report on the mining industries of the United States (exclusive of the precious metals) : with special investigations into the iron resources of the Republic and into the Cretaceous coals of the Northwest |
|
|
Reports on the water-power of the United States : statistics of power and machinery employed in manufactures |
|
|
Report on the social statistics of cities |
|
|
Report on the statistics of wages in manufacturing industries : with supplementary reports on the average retail prices of necessaries of life : and on trades societies, and strikes and lockouts |
|
|
Report on the defective, dependent, and delinquent classes of the population of the United States, as returned at the tenth census (June 1, 1880) |
|
|
Report on power and machinery employed in manufactures : embracing statistics of steam and water power used in the manufacture of iron and steel, machine tools and wood-working machinery, wool and silk machinery, and monographs on pumps and pumping engines, manufacture of engines and boilers, marine engines and steam vessels |
|
|
Compendium of the tenth Census (2 volumes) |