For more info...
-
Encyclopedia of the U.S. CensusThe history, politics, content, procedures, and uses of the decennial census of the American population. See the entry under "History of Decennial Censuses". Includes bibliography for each census through 2010.
Population Schedules
Census population schedules (or "name schedules" or "manuscript census") are copies of the original questionnaires collected during each decennial census. They list the individual names and family information of the people enumerated. Unlike the statistics published soon after the census, the population schedules remain confidential for 72 years. 1930 is the most recent population schedule available.
- Ancestry.comonline access to population schedules, search by name, place, and other characteristics
- Census Records Online 1790-1950Open to all, hosted by the National Archives.
Raw Data Files
These are computer files intended to be loaded into statistical software for analysis and creating your own tables. In some cases these files can be used with spreadsheet software as well.
Contact
Need help? Use the Ask-A-Librarian reference service, or call us at (847) 491-7656, during Research Assistance Desk hours.
To consult with a government information specialist by appointment, contact govinfo@northwestern.edu
About the 1900 Census
Highlights of the 1900 Census
- 12th decennial census
- US population: 75,994,575
- Illinois population: 4,821,550
- A century of population growth, from the first census of the United States to the twelfth, 1790-1900.
Questions asked
Address; name; relationship to head of family; sex; race; age; month and year of birth; marital status; number of years married; for women, number of children born and number now living; place of birth of person and parents; if foreign born, year of immigration to the U.S., number of years in the U.S., and whether naturalized; occupation; months not employed; months attended school during census year; literacy; ability to speak English. Supplemental schedules for the blind and for the deaf.
For more information:
Map Coverage of the 1900 Census
For more information:
Statistics from the 1900 Census
Multi-year census compilations (compare across years): These sources tend to include statistics for large geographic areas (e.g. states), but can be very useful when comparing statistics over time.
Digitized Data Sources
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Hosted at the University of Minnesota, provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2014. Open access to data, although users must create an account. - Social Explorer - subscription database, access to NU-affiliated users only.
Includes Census data 1790-present along with other datasets on health, crime, and other topics. US emphasis but other national data is also available. Data can be mapped or data tables extracted.
Key publications:
|
Print available in the Library |
Online access |
|
Vol. I: Population. |
|
|
Vol II: Population. |
|
|
Vol III: Vital Statistics |
|
|
Vol IV: Vital Statistics |
|
|
Vol V: Agriculture |
|
|
Vol VI: Agriculture |
|
|
Vol VII: Manufactures |
|
|
Vol VIII: Manufactures |
|
|
Vol IX: Manufactures |
|
|
Vol X: Manufactures |
|
|
Abstract of the Twelfth Census of the United States: 1900 also Gov Info Microtext (non-circulating) I1302-1 |
|
|
Twelfth Census of U.S., taken in year 1900 : Statistical atlas. |
|
|
Supplementary analysis and derivative tables |
|
|
Child labor in U.S. : based on unpublished information derived from schedules of 12th Census: 1900. Bulletin (United States. Bureau of the Census) ; 69 |
n/a |
|
Occupations at the twelfth census |
|
|
Negroes in the United States. Bulletin (United States. Bureau of the Census) ; no.129
|
|
|
Illiteracy in the United States. Bulletin (United States. Bureau of the Census) ; 26. |
n/a |
|
Statistics of women at work : based on unpublished information derived from the schedules of the twelfth census, 1900 |
|
|
Wealth, debt, and taxation also Gov Info Microtext (non-circulating) CIS US Exec MF C305-31 |
n/a |
|
A discussion of the vital statistics of the Twelfth Census. Bulletin (United States. Bureau of the Census) ; 15 |