Covers traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history. Defines new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements.

Covers all major and many minor religions including movements, sects, and cults. Includes sacred writings and biographies of founders, leaders, gurus, philosophers, mystics, and heretics. Provides details of sacred sites, customs, religious practices, dogmas, beliefs, traditions, festivals and fasts, and artifacts.

The essential guide to the languages of the world, comprehensively detailing languages in a clear A-Z style.

Covers phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics. Contains table of abbreviations, table of symbols, and updated International Phonetic Alphabet.

Explains and illustrates the literary symbols (such as swan, rose, moon, gold). Offers cross-references and quotations.

Contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Includes biographies of influential philosophers, recent terms and concepts from Western philosophical traditions, as well as Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy.

Covers gods of Greece, Rome, and Scandinavia, deities of Buddhist and Hindu India, and spirits of African and American continents. Offers myths from around the globe.

Guide to authors and their works. Focuses on general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present. Some coverage of non-fiction such as biographies, memoirs, and science. Includes major American and Commonwealth writers.

Covers aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion. Contains articles on central figures, real and mythological.

Contains entries on major philosophers from ancient to contemporary. Covers fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics. International in scope.

Provides biographical and critical essays on lives, works, and careers of the world’s influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series