Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Biographical Database
Offers biographical sketches and essays on African Americans from 1790 to 1950. Corresponds to printed resource entitled Black Biographical Dictionaries. Includes short sketches, biographical essays, illustrations and photographs
Almanac of American Politics
Includes profiles of every member of Congress and every governor. It offers in-depth and completely up-to-date narrative profiles of all 50 states and 435 House districts.
Chambers Biographical Dictionary
International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. Covers all periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Offers an illustrated collection of biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
World Biographical Information System WBIS
Offers short biographical entries for eminent individuals who lived in North and South America, Africa and Europe, Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania. Useful for finding historical figures in older biographical sources. NUL has most of the source documents in various sets of microfiche, in cases where NUL doesn't own the original works, or the original has not been digitized.