Offers definitions and explanations of key terms, including short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline - both classical (eg Mill) and modern (eg Hayek).

Defines sociological concepts and provides an introduction to what it means to think sociologically.

Covers all aspects of politics including political theory, political thinkers, history, institutions, concepts, and current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics. Provides international coverage. Includes entry-level Internet links.

Covers all aspects of economics including theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance, monetary economics, environmental economics. Covers international trade, economic organizations and institutions. Includes web links.

Covers human and physical geography. Includes cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development. Focuses on globalization and the anti-globalization movement, landscape restoration, the digital divide, and issues of governance. Includes web links.

Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

Covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics. Features subjects as cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Includes cross reference and illustrations.

Includes definitions for anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism. Covers classic and contemporary scholarship, basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies.

Includes terms from sociology and related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science. Contains biographies covering key figures. Includes web links.