Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Federal Documents: Highlights

Northwestern University Libraries have been a U.S. Federal Depository Library since 1876. Our collection includes materials in paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, DVD formats and online formats. This guide is based on a similar guide by Kelly Smith at UCSD.

Government & Geographic Information Collections

The Government & Geographic Information Collection is located in the University Library Lower Level, Room B190.  There you will find publications and documents from the U.S. Federal government, Illinois, Chicago, and several intergovernmental organizations including the United Nations, World Bank, IMF, OECD, and World Health Organization.  Materials are in print, microfiche, and CD/DVD formats. 

Users are strongly encouraged to make arrangements in advance to work with map and rare atlas materials.

Questions?  Contact us at govinfo@northwestern.edu

Databases

Catalog to U.S. Government Publications.
Search publications of U.S. Federal government agencies published 1976-present.

Government Periodicals Index
Indexing and links to full text articles from over 300 periodicals published by agencies U.S. Federal government.

ProQuest Statistical Insight.
Access statistical tables included in publications from federal, state, local and international government agencies as well as private research organizations.

ProQuest Congressional.
Publications of U.S. Congress produced during the legislative process (bills, hearings, proceedings, etc.)

science.gov
Portal that searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites providing authoritative federal science information

data.gov
Portal to >234,000 open datasets provided by 166 agencies and subagencies and 770 publishers. Updated daily.

govinfo.gov
Official digital repository for publications of U.S. Federal government agencies

Journals

Environmental Health Perspectives
Publishes research that enhances our understanding of the relationship between the environment and human health, with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and other agencies.


Monthly Labor Review
The principal journal from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics with articles about the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.

 

Books

The United States Government Manual.  Annual.
The official guide to who does what in the executive, legislative and judicial branches of the federal government.

  

Council of Economic Advisors.  Economic Report of the President.  annual 1935-present.
Annual report from the Council of Economic Advisors providing an
overview of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

Public Papers of the President
Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature compiled annually for each administration by the National Archives.

State Dept.  Trafficking in Persons Report, 2017.
U.S. State Department annual report on progress made and challenges remaining related to the prosecution, protection, and prevention of human trafficking. 

Covered Bridges and the Birth of American Engineering
Essays explore the history of these iconic bridges, their design, prominent bridge builders and practices, and the structures’ preservation.  Published jointly by US Dept of Transportation and the National Park Service.

Impacts of Climate Change on Human Health in the United States: A Scientific Assessment.  U.S. Global Change Research Program.
Relying upon recent peer-reviewed research, more than 100 experts, from eight federal agencies, distill the current state of understanding of climate change impacts.