Research Guides: *U.S. Federal Documents: Business/Economics

Additional LibGuides

Business/Economic Agencies

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Department of Commerce
Department of Labor
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Federal Reserve System
International Trade Administration
Minority Business Development Agency
Securities & Exchange Commission
Small Business Administration
See also the SBA Illinois District Office website - offices in Chicago and Springfield.

Resources

Census.gov: Business & Economy Descriptions, with links, to major data collection programs related to business, the economy, and governments.
Country Commercial Guides Reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared at U.S. Embassies worldwide.
Current Industrial Reports Monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of production & shipments of selected industrial products. Data collection ceased in 2011-2012. Selected data online; historical data available - use NUSearch to identify print edition.
EDGAR Access filings submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) required of all public companies.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Coding scheme used by federal statistical agencies to classify statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
O*NET An interactive application for exploring and searching occupations. Includes Career Exploration Tools, a set of assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers. Sponsored by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and other partners.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations
Producer Price Indexes (ppi) The PPI measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services.
U.S. International Trade Administration Research Center Tools, research, and services that assist U.S. businesses to expand their markets.
USASpending.gov Search, display and download (SQL database, API) US federal expenditures. Follow the money from the Congressional appropriations to the federal agencies and down to local communities and businesses.
more...less...
Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (FFATA) required that federal contract, grant, loan, and other financial assistance awards of more than $25,000 be displayed on a publicly accessible and searchable website ... In 2008, FFATA was amended by the Government Funding Transparency Act, which required prime recipients to report details on their first-tier sub-recipients for awards made as of October 1, 2010.
USA Trade Online Requires user to create a free account. Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. Import data organized by Schedule B coding scheme; Export data organized by the Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS) codes

Economic Indicators

Beige Book More formally known as the Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District, published 8 times/year. Analysis of economic conditions in each Federal Reserve Bank district along with a national overview.
Consumer Price Index Monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Economic Indicators from the Census Bureau Economic indicators posted here upon release. Also includes links to historic data, calendar of data releases, and mobile app.
Economic News Releases Latest releases for economic indicators from the Bureau of Labor Statistics related to employment, pay and benefits, productivity, employment projections, and economic indicators.
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
From the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Download, graph, and track 763,000 US and international time series from 94 sources. FRED also provides Federal Reserve Bank publications and working papers on monetary policy and economic conditions.
Gross Domestic Product Bureau of Economic Analysis news releases about National Economic Accounts including Gross Domestic Product (GDP), National Income & Product Accounts (NIPA), Personal Income & Outlays, Corporate Profits, and more.
Monthly Labor Review Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, articles authored by economists, statisticians, and experts from the public and private sectors. Topics addressed include the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.
Survey of Current Business Published monthly by the Bureau of Economic Analysis, articles present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates; describe the methodologies used to prepare the estimates, etc.
Treasury Bulletin Articles include tables and charts related to treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.
ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)
ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. Hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis