Research Guides: *U.S. Federal Documents: Maps & Geospatial Data

USGS Topographic Maps @ NUL

NUL has an extensive collection of USGS topographic maps. For Illinois and the continguous midwestern states we have maps at 1:24,000 scale in paper format. For all fifty states and US territories in paper format and in a variety of scales (1:100,100; 1:250,000). Older editions of topographic maps for Illinois are retained, providing valuable information about changes in land use and settlement patterns.

USGS ceased updating paper topographic map in the early 2000s, instead focusing effort on creating and updating the online edition of topographic maps linked below along with geospatial data for analysis using GIS software. USGS will print paper maps on demand for a fee. NUL and other libraries retain paper copies of topographic maps which are valuable for a variety of uses.

Maps are available in the University Library Lower Level, Room B190. This area is not staffed and all map cases are locked. Contact govinfo@northwestern.edu to make an appointment to locate and view maps.

USGS Store Order USGS, US Forest Service, US National Park Service, and National Geospatial-Information Agency Maps.
The National Map Online portals providing access to US Topographic maps, Historic Topographic Maps, 3D Elevation Program, the National Hydrography Data Set, Orthoimagery, National Landcover Database, and Geographic Names.
National Geologic Map Database Interactive online map viewers for both Topographic and Geologic Maps. Historic maps are included and the goal is to include complete coverage for the United States.

US Government Mapping Agencies

Bureau of Land Management, Cadastral Survey Cadastral survey and historical data on lands patented, along with information on the mineral estate, resource conditions, and permits or leases on Federal Lands.
Census Bureau, Maps & Cartographic Products Publicly available printed maps, free downloadable maps, generalized, digital files suitable for use with GIS, interactive on-line mapping, and much more.
Central Intelligence Agency Maps & Publications Some online maps and information on purchasing CIA's foreign maps.
Federal Aviation Administration, National Aeronautical Charting Office Aeronautical Navigation Products (AeroNav Products) supports Pilots, Air Traffic Controllers, and Aviation Planners with a myriad of products and services to promote safe aeronautical navigation.
Federal Emergency Management Agency, Flood Hazard Mapping Division responsible for maintaining and updating the National Flood Insurance Program maps. Interactive map service.
Federal Geographic Data Committee Interagency committee composed of representatives from the Executive Office of the President, Cabinet-level, and independent agencies for developing the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) in cooperation with organizations from State, local, and tribal governments; the academic community; and the private sector.
Fish & Wildlife Service, National Wetlands Inventory Information about the Fish and Wildlife Service's wetland mapping program, including an interactive mapping tool.
Forest Service, National Forest and Grassland Maps Information about availability and ordering Forest Service maps.
National Geodetic Survey Home page of NOAA's National Geodetic Survey (NGS) defines and manages a national coordinate system that provides the foundation for transportation and communication; mapping and charting; and a multitude of scientific and engineering applications.
National Geologic Map Database A distributed archive of geoscience information for the nation, developed in partnership with the American Association of State Geologists. Provides a map catalog and two interactive map services, MapView and TopoView.
National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA) Products & Services Available to the Public Information on how to obtain NGA produced topographic maps, nautical and aeronautical charts and other publicly available products.
National Oceanic and Atmostpheric Administration, Office of Coast Survey Nautical charts and related publications for the United States and its territories.
Natural Resources Conservation Service, Soils Information concerning soil survey status, online soil surveys, and downloadable soils data.
USGS Store Order USGS, US Forest Service, US National Park Service, and National Geospatial-Information Agency Maps.

State of Illinois Mapping Agencies

Enterprise Zone Maps, etc: Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity Enterprise zone maps.
Illinois Department of Transportation Highway maps, average annual daily traffic, functional classification of roadways (urban/rural).
Illinois Public Health Community Map Interactive statewide map, display county comparisons for a variety of health conditions, e.g. asthma.
Illinois State Board of Elections
Illinois State Board of Elections State Representative District Maps Downloadable PDFs for Illinois' 118 State Representative Districts from the 2011 Legislative Redistricting.
Illinois State Geological Survey
Illinois State Water Survey

For geospatial data to use with GIS software, see the GIS: Geographic Information Systems Research Guide

Chicago, Regional, and County Maps

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) Regional map, historic traffic maps.
Chicago Transit Authority Maps Bus and train routes.
City of Chicago Wards Includes link to Ward Map as well as contact information for Aldermen/women.
Cook County Maps & Data Links to several online map services including Cook County Map Center, Cook County TIF Viewer (Tax Increment Financing Districts), Facilities Map, Highway Construction Projects, and more.
Cook Viewer Cook County Map Viewer

For geospatial data to use with GIS software, see the GIS: Geographic Information Systems Research Guide

Gazetteers

A gazetteer is a dictionary of place names, often identifying the correct spelling, the type of place (is it a lake, a town or an airport, for example) and the location (within what country, latitude/longitude coordinates, etc.).

Columbia Gazetteer of the World Place name dictionary, print edition
GEONet Names Server "The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names . . . All the geographic features in the database contain information about location, administrative division, and quality." GNS does not contain any coverage for the United States of America or Antarctica, for which see the United States Geological Survey (USGS) Geographic Names Information System (GNIS).
Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) Source for standardized names of places in the United States and Antartica. Foreign place name search provided.
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names® Online The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ® (TGN) is a structured vocabulary that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture.
Place Names This extensive listing of place name dictionaries (gazetteers) in the US (states) and other parts of the world has been compiled by The Arizona State University Library

Additional LibGuides

GIS: Geographic Information Systems
Provides information about NUL GIS staff, services, and resources.
Map & Atlas Collection (NUL)
Provides information about NUL staff, services, and collection materials.