Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Executive Branch Resources
What The Presidents Said
American Presidency Project
Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913); Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-2007); Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2009); Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (2007-2015); and various additional publications relating to the Presidency, with scattered date coverage.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
1992-present. Consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Available to all.
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1929
Contains most of the presidential papers through Hoover's Inauguaral Address of 1929.
selected volumes, available to all users.
Information about where to access presidential materials for all Presidents, Washington through Biden, through this LibGuide, created by Jen Kirk, Utah State University Libraries.
Correspondence and other writings from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 181,000 searchable documents, fully annotated.
Presidential Collections: American Memory Project, Library of Congress
Materials related to the presidencies of Abraham Lincoln (1859-1865) and Calvin Coolidge (1921-1929) are here along with selected documents from the Manuscript Division.
Presidential Inaugural Addresses, 1789-2009 (transcripts)
Transcripts for Presidential Inaugural Addresses provided by ICPSR.
Public Papers of the Presidents
Compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957. Presidents GHW Bush, Clinton, GW Bush, and Obama are here, freely available to all
. Ronald Reagan's speeches, statements and papers (1981-1989)
made available by the Office of the Press Secretary are hosted by the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library website.
Presidential State of the Union Addresses 1913-2008 (transcripts)
Transcripts of State of the Union addresses given by presidents from Woodrow Wilson (1913) through George W. Bush (2008), provided by ICPSR.
State of the Union Addresses
Text of each President's messages to Congress, provided by The American Presidency Project.
U.S.Presidential Library in HeinOnline
This database includes messages and papers of the presidents, daily and weekly compilations of presidential documents, public papers of the presidents, documents relating to impeachment, Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and a host of other related works.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
1965-2009 via HeinOnline - access limited to NU affiliated persons.
Presidential proclamations, signing statements, speeches, communications to agencies & Congress, appointments & nominations, and materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Note: Volumes for 1992- are freely available to all users via GPO.
See also the Presidential Documents Mobile App
for materials 2009 to present.
What The Presidents Did
Budget of the U.S. Government
(1996- ). Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. The 2017 Budget was released 2/11/2016 on www.govinfo.gov
. See also Budget of the US Government FY17 Mobile App
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Annual Edition
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. Available to all.
Code of Federal Regulations
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. See also the List of CFR Sections Affected
, which lists proposed, new, and amended regulations published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision of the CFR.
Note: Volumes for 1996- are freely available to all users via GPO.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report (1947- ) that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Note: 1947- are freely available to all users: 1995-present via GPO and 1947-present via FRASER
Orders signed by Presidents Roosevelt through Obama. (1937- ) Full text of orders from Presidents Clinton-Obama.
Executive Orders and Other Presidential Documents: Sources & Explanations
Identifies major sources for Presidential directives, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, memoranda, and other documents. The site also links to many sources, such as CRS reports, that explain these documents. See also Presidential Documents Mobile App
for access to Executive Orders 2009 to present.
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Note: volumes for 1994- are also freely available to all users via GPO.
Connecting Presidential Collections
This IMLS-funded portal provides free, centralized searching across presidential collections housed at the Miller Center (UVa), NARA's Presidential Libraries, state historical societies, museums, and university collections.
Presidential Libraries Online
The National Archives administers 14 presidential libraries which each maintain an online presence with digital exhibits and digital collections.