Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Video Production Studio: Lightboard: Retrieving your Files

Services and details provided by the studio

Locating Your Completed Files

The desktop computer located on the front (northwest corner of the room) is primarily used to transfer you completed files to your choice of options, whether it be Google Drive, Box, Panapto, or a USB Flash drive. To start, follow the steps to retrive your completed files:

  1. Sign onto the workstation using your Northwestern NetID and your NetID password.You must have a NetID in order to use the workstation.
  2. To view your recorded files, open the Studio Recordings shortcut icon located on the top left of the desktop by double-clicking the icon with the left mouse button, or right-clicking the icon and choosing “open.”
  3. A Windows Explorer window will open, bringing you to C:\Studio Recordings.You may notice a Recordings folder within the Studio Recordings folder (C:\Studio Recordings\Recordings). This is where your recorded files will appear after you’ve recorded your video content. If you do not see this folder, do not worry, the folder will be created after you start recording your video content.

  4. Within the C:\Studio Recordings folder, there is a text file containing a notice that any data in this folder will automatically be deleted when you sign out. This is a friendly reminder to remember to transfer your files after you are done using the studio because any files located in C:\Studio Recordings will be deleted when you sign out of the computer. Please remember to sign out when you are done!

  5. Open the C:\Studio Recordings\Recordings folder from the desktop shortcut. If you have already recorded your content, you may see your files transferring over to the folder. A traffic cone icon will appear as a place-holder for the recorded files that are being transferred. This icon indicates that the file is still transferring. Do not click, move, or delete the transferring file: wait for the transfer to complete!

  6. If you open the transferring file, you will see an error message noting “Your input can’t be opened.” This means your file is not ready, close out of the error message and wait.

 

Previewing Your Files

  1. Once your file is ready to be uploaded to your preferred file storage location (Box, Google Drive, or Panapto, etc.) and/or a USB drive. The traffic-cone icon will be replaced with a snapshot of the first frame of your recorded content.
  2. Feel free to now open the file to preview your recorded content and confirm that your recorded content is ready to be transferred.

  3. If needed, re-record your content, and go through recording and file transfer process again. Remember, wait until the traffic-cone icon is replaced with a snapshot of your recorded content. Double-click the snapshot to preview your recording.

  4. Once you are satisfied with your recording, the next step is to upload your video content. Navigate to your preferred file storage location and copy and paste the files over or upload them. Remember to SIGN OUT of the computer when you are done.

Using a USB Drive to Upload your Files

  1. Plug your USB into the USB dock. Find the device in Windows Explorer.
  2. Navigate to C:\Studio Recordings\Recordings and copy the files you want to transfer to your USB and paste them onto your USB.

  3. Wait for the content to finish transferring to your USB.

  4. Wait for the content to finish transferring to your USB. Once the files are transferred over, play them back to make sure the content successfully uploaded.

  5. Sign out of the workstation when you are done. Double click on the Log Off shortcut on the desktop.

Transferring Your Files Online

Using Box to Transfer your Files

  1. If you are a Northwestern affiliate, open your preferred web browser and go to http://box.northwestern.edu  Sign in using your NetID and your NETID password.
  2. After you are signed into Box, select the Upload icon on the upper right corner of the browser window and choose to upload either the individually recorded files or the entire Recordings folder.

  3. Navigate to the path where your files exist and select the files from within Windows Explorer. Again, the path where the recorded content exists is: C:\Studio Recordings\Recordings

  4. Wait for the files to upload. You will see a progress bar at the bottom of the browser indicating upload time.

  5. When your files are done up loading, you will see a success message at the top of the browser and your files will appear in your destination Box folder.

  6. Sign out of the workstation when you are done. Double click on the Log Off shortcut on the desktop.

Using Google Drive to Transfer your Files

  1. Open your preferred web browser and sign into a Gmail account

  2. Once you are signed in, navigate to Google Drive by clicking the Google Apps icon (9 dot square) on the top right side of the browser page. A pop-up menu will appear, Select Drive.

  3. Click the New icon on the upper left and select Folder to create a new folder for your video content.

  4. Rename your newly created folder to a name of your choice.

  5. Right click the center of the screen and select the option to Upload files or Upload folder.

  6. Navigate to C:\Studio Recordings\Recordings and upload the entire Recordings folder or individual videos.

  7. After you’ve selected your files to transfer, you will see a red clapper board icon meaning the file is still uploading, wait until this becomes a screenshot of the first frame of your recorded content. If you open the recording too soon, you’ll receive the following error message. Close out and wait.

  8. Once your recorded file is ready, the red clapperboard will change to reflect the first frame of your recorded content. Open it up to preview the recording.

  9. Sign out of the workstation when you are done. Double click on the Log Off shortcut on the desktop.