Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search over 40 years of data, spanning a wide array of social issues, from the longest running proprietary survey of public opinion in the world – The Harris Poll®.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of over 350,000 questions from more than 14,000 public opinion surveys conducted by more than 700 different organizations in the U.S. and abroad.
Roper Center For Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
Access to archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. Roper Center data range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
Civil Rights Data Collection
Data about "key education and civil rights issues" in schools around the country every other year since 1968. Choose a school name, school district, city, street address, or other information to access detailed and specific data on Student Enrollment, Staffing and Finance, and other fields.
Home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
From the Center for Digital Humanities & Social Sciences at Michigan State University.
Google Datasets Search
Companion to Google Scholar, metadata tags will be indexed by Dataset Search and have input from Google’s Knowledge Graph.
Gov Info, Maps, Data
See "Race and Ethnicity" in Sources of data by subject
GSS Data Explorer
General Social Survey (GSS) on American society, by NORC (formerly the National Opinion Research Center) "an objective non-partisan research institution" at the University of Chicago.
ICPSR Data Archive This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and data sets in the largest archive of social science data, the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research, part of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Data Citation Index, data sets and data studies, 1900-present.
Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
Annual. Boulder, CO: Numbers & Concepts, 1990-2009. ISSN: 1048-6992. Oak Grove Library Center--Request Online; Call number: 305.89607 B6278
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Civil Rights Data Collection
The U.S. Department of Education conducts the Civil Rights Data Collection, formerly the Elementary and Secondary School Survey, to collect data on key education and civil rights issues in our nation's public schools.
Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. Contents of core journals, additional journals in related fields, & books in statistics. Coverage extending back to 1974, earlier in some instances.
Website and visualization engine of public US Government data.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Features include descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Portal to 24 databases from UN Statistics and Population Divisions, UN specialized agencies (International Labour Organization, Food and Agriculture Organization, World Health Organization), and member states (statistics collected by their national statistical agencies).