List of projects, resources, events, etc., started by Colored Conventions Project @CCP_org.

Hampton 2019 Commemorative Commission

Overview of auction houses and slave jails. Digital Scholarship Lab, University of Richmond.

American Experience . WGBH | PBS

Background and information about Britain and the transatlantic slave trade, and relevant records held by The National Archives (UK government, and for England and Wales.)

Transatlantic Slave Trade and Thomas Clarkson and his fellow abolitionists.

Virginia Foundation for the Humanities

Compiled and edited by Julia C Sherman, University of Montana, 2018 (67 pg PDF).

Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

Details of 91,491 Africans liberated by International Courts of Mixed Commission and British Vice Admiralty Courts, makes possible new geographic, ethnic, and linguistic data on peoples captured in Africa and pulled into the slave trade.

University of Delaware Library, Museums, and Press

Pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England, 1725-1911, including speeches, sermons, proceedings and other publications of organizations such as the American Anti-Slavery Society and the American Colonization Society, and a small number of pro-slavery tracts. From Special Collections & Archives of the University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries.

Established in 2003, it encompasses slave narratives, lectures, travel accounts, political tracts, prose fiction, poetry, drama, religious and philosophical literature, compendia, journals, manifestoes and children's literature. The Project is based in the Arizona State University’s English department and works in cooperation with the EServer, located at Iowa State University.

Congressional Black Caucus Foundation

Duke University Libraries

European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights, November 2018.

Draw attention to missing African Americans and to help bring them home.

The leading online social network focused on African-American art.

Podcasts, projects and community history archives.

Swarthmore College, Swarthmore, PA

Online encyclopedia; speeches; primary documents from 1724 to 2009; bibliographies; timelines and links to archive collections, museums, research centers, and genealogical research websites.

Supported by the Art Division of the D.C. Public Library.

Database of Black women running for office.

2,300 accounts and 500 photographs of former slaves, collected in the 1930s by the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration, microfilmed in 1941 as the 17 vol. "Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves."

The Massachusetts Historical Society provides this online exhibit on the abolitionist movement in Boston, both prior to and during the Civil War.

Tribute to Harrisonburg, VA, educator who taught 1,800 students between 1877-1934.

History of African Americans members of the Church of Latter-day Saints at the University of Utah.

Unedited news film from WSB (Atlanta) & WALB (Albany, GA) television archives in the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.

University of Delaware

Center for Black Digital Research, #DigBlk, at Penn State University.

From the National Museum of African Art and the Camille O. and William H. Cosby Jr. collection.

Focusing on African-American churches created in 1930's and 1940's.

Race and Slavery Petitions Project; NC Runaway Slave Advertisements; Slave Deeds of North Carolina; Slavery Era Insurance Registries; etc. at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Digital media following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, MO, on August 9, 2014.

University of Nevada Las Vegas Libraries portal that documents the history of African Americans in southern Nevada, including photographs, documents, videos, and audio recordings.

Civil War Washington

App on 51 sites in the Mississippi Delta on death, trial, and public memory of Emmett Till.

Sites in the Mississippi Delta related to the life, murder, and memory of Emmett Till.

Launching in 2020 by Matrix, Michigan State University’s Center for Digital research in the Social Sciences and Humanities.

Linked Open Data Platform for study and exploration of historical slave trade.

By InventHelp InventHelp®, an inventor service company.

By Douglas O. Linder (2014) U. of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law

Intersections between fashion, race, and colonialism, by Parsons School of Design professor.

Massachusetts Historical Society

Maps and links to historical narratives from 1810 to 1859, from the University of Richmond.

University of Rochester

Records of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands

University of Maryland, College Park, MD, begun in 1976 to transcribe and annotate documents.

Biographical accounts of enslaved Africans in the Atlantic world, 16th-19th century.

Database of fugitives from North American slavery.

Family papers, business records, and public documents pertaining to free people of color in Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley.

12th Bishop, African Methodist Episcopal church by Dr. Andre E. Johnson, U. of Memphis

University of Richmond's projects, with emphasis on Richmond & Virginia.

Hip Hop Information Literacy Resources for Students, Faculty and Lifelong Learners.

Since 1999, the HistoryMakers has recorded the experiences of African Americans. Create a free acount to access clips of the video and written biographies.

Center for Arkansas History and Culture at University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

University of Kentucky

"Discovering African-American History in Rural Ohio." The Knox County Ohio Black History Digital Archives is a project of the Kenyon College Rural Life Center.

University College London's projects tracing the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain: the ESRC-funded Legacies of British Slave-ownership project, now complete, and the ESRC and AHRC-funded Structure and significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833, running from 2013-2015.

Real time tracking site for state and federal legislation.

Archival materials from court cases & records in British & Sierra Leone National Archives.

Data visualization of U.S. history, including the NAACP, the American Socialist Party, and the Industrial Workers of the World by the University of Washington

Maps 1935-1940 by Home Owners' Loan Corp. From Digital Scholarship Lab, U. of Richmond

By PROLOGUE DC's team of Washington based historians.

Website and transcription of diaries of African-American woman living in Philadelphia, 1863-1865, from Villanova University

Monroe Nathan Work (1866-1945) founded Dept. of Records & Research at Tuskegee Institute. Site has update of Monroe Work's legacy using modern tools to list again every known lynching. Site updates Work's legacy using modern tools to list & map every known lynching.

An interactive timeline from the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

Text mining project on Jim Crow and racially-based legislation in North Carolina, 1866-1967.

Archive of racial segregation laws, Univ. of Virginia's Woodson Inst. & Ctr. for Digital Humanities.

A Project of the American Anthropological Association

By Washington University Libraries and the Missouri State Archives.

Advertisements from eighteenth-century English and Scottish newspapers.

In 1870, Rev. Samuel Joseph May's materials went to Cornell U. Library, documenting anti-slavery struggles. Sermons, position papers, offprints, newsletters, anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes document the abolitionist movement.

By Jobie Hill, a licensed preservation architect.

A Rosenwald School in Rappahannock County, Virginia, 1921-1968, that now houses the Rappahannock Senior Center and the Rappahannock African-American Heritage Center.

Virtual Programs & Services, Library of Congress.

By students and faculty at Mississippi State University.

A Resource Guide For and About African American Women Feature Filmmakers

Open access repository on enslaved people in the Atlantic World.

Performance/film production, Nov. 8-9, 2019, artist Dread Scott's reimagined German Coast Uprising of 1811, outside of New Orleans.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization's work on research, teaching, identification, preservation and promotion of sites of memory related to the slave trade and slavery.

First person narratives, legal proceedings & decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works from Millersville University & Dickinson College libraries.

A production of Thirteen/WNET New York © 2004 PBS

Open source collaboration led by Scholastica of slave narratives and interviews.

Vanderbilt University digitazation project related to Africans, Afro-descended peoples, Chinese and indigenous groups. Over 500,000 documents from Brazil, Colombia, Cuba and the U.S.

Interactive map by Lincoln Mullen, using U.S. Census Data.

Clearinghouse for analysis & resources related to U.S. state sanctioned violence.

Exhibit on 1931 trial of 9 young men falsely accused of rape, from the Scottsboro Boys Museum & Cultural Center and University of Alabama.

Records of 36,000 slaving expeditions 1514-1866 found in archives and libraries.

Project about the Tuskegee Army Air Field nurses during World War II.

The Undefeated is a branch of ESPN.

On Rosewood, FL, African American town destroyed in 1923 race riot.

Policy agenda of the Movement for Black Lives. Over 30 policies, 8/1/16.

Free, public-access handbook by University of Richmond students & faculty.

Abdul Alkalimat's lecture series on political prisoners.

African Diaspora, Ph.D.s, 2008-.

Foods/flavors inspired by Africa

Natural hair, beauty, & fashion

Blog by Michael W. Twitty

Shavanna Calder, Editor

Spelman C. literary magazine

African American Intellectual History Society blog

Writing for young readers.

"...young, urban black millennial"

Center for Black Music Research, Columbia C., Chicago

By Betty Reid Soskin, nation’s oldest active park ranger (2016).

Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights.

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Black art through books, magazines & catalogs

Digital media company, NYC

By Kimberly Foster, 2010-.

Trudy's womanist blog on art, media, social media, socio-politics & culture.

"...platform of dope, up and coming artist, athletes and more."

H-Net's Network on the history of slavery.

Supporting Hampton U. Museum

By Francheska Medina

"A black bourgeoisie perspective on U.S. politics."

Marc Myers, Wall Street Journal

Archives of African American Music and Culture, Indiana U.

by Michele T. Fenton

Lifestyle publication for African-American women.

Collaborative collecting data on police killings.

Women's poetry, memoir, and social commentary

Blog by Sanura Weathers

Mark Anthony Neal digital home

From The Los Angeles Wave group of community newspapers

Dr. Zandria F. Robinson (PhD, Northwestern U., 2010)

African + Diaspora arts, culture and entertainment

Focus is on Florida.

Shanee' Yvette Murrain, Durham, NC

From BlackPast.org

created by Farai Chideya

Joe Feagin, Jessie Daniels, etc.

Patheos blog

About diverse books for young adult readers.

News, entertainment, business & politics

Cinema, television & web content of the African Diaspora

Urban music blog.

Digital Archive of the Journal of the Southern Regional Council, 1978-2003

Politics, Economics, Culture...

Washington D.C.'s music culture.

Hair, fashion, health, music, film, lifestyle and arts & culture.

Damon Young & Panama Jackson

"...address both historical and contemporary issues dealing with race and inequality in higher education and in university communities as well as the complicated legacies of slavery in modern American society."

Ohio Historical Society

Abstracts & downloadable PDFs.

Literary classics and up-to-date periodicals.

UNC-Chapel Hill

Open Access Repositories

Baltimore, MD

By Everfest

Miami, FL

Black Classical Musicians Festival, held in the Spring in Charleston, SC

Indianapolis, IN

Annapolis, MD

Charleston, SC

Atlanta, GA

Winston-Salem, NC

In California each year in late January

Saint Simons Island, GA

Presented by the Association to Preserve Eatonville, Inc., Florida

Dept. of African American Studies & Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois