Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New AFAM Serials @ NULibrary
Serials: journals, periodicals, newspapers, annuals, etc., that appear in regular installments. ISSN=International Standard Serial Number, identifies serials.
ART | library deco
May 2013- ; ISSN: 2476-0900
Online African American digital art library, documenting the visual experience of art and literature through the eyes of various artists and institutions in the U.S. and abroad.
Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation
MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences, East Lansing, MI: Volume 1, Issue 1:June 2020-. ISSN: 2691-297X
Sociology of Race and Ethnicity
By the American Sociological Association's Section for Racial and Ethnic Minorities
Bibliographies, Directories & Lists
Artificial intelligence based scholarly search engine for publications in computer science, neurology and medicine.
Periodicals in Google Books
African American Historical Serials Collection
More than 170 unique titles from 75 institutions published between 1829 and 1922. Includes reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies, as well as African American periodicals. Developed with the American Theological Library Association.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans and can be cross-searched with African American Newspapers, Afro-Americana Imprints and other Archive of Americana collections. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Crisis, The, vol. 1-25 (1910-1922)
When W. E. B. Du Bois founded The Crisis in 1910, as the house magazine of the fledgling National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), he created what is arguably the most widely read and influential periodical about race and social injustice in U.S. history.[ From the Modernist Journals Project.]
Digital Colored American Magazine, 1900-1909
Writers included Pauline Hopkins, W. E. B. Du Bois, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Alberta Moore Smith, Ella Wheeler Wilcox, T. Thomas Fortune, William Stanley Braithwaite, Angelina Grimké, and Booker T. Washington.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. 1959-Present.
Black Studies Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 150 scholarly and popular multidisciplinary journals from the U.S., the Caribbean, and Africa. Abstracts are available from 1998 forward. Forty-two core journals are available in full text. Retrospective indexing dates to 1902.
Marshall index: a guide to Negro periodical literature, 1940-1946
Compiled and originally published by Albert P. Marshall. Rev. ed. edited by Richard Newman and James P. Danky. Uniform Title: Guide to Negro periodical literature. Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest Information and Learning, 2002.
Woman's Era, The
Emory Women Writers Resource Project has digitized vo1. 1-3 (1894-1897) of the publication founded in Boston by Josephine St. Pierre Ruffin and her daughter, Florida Ridley.
Biggest and/or Best Indexes to Articles
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Subject index to over 300 alternative, left, and radical journals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers the period 1969 through to 1990.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
The major bibliographic reference resource to the history of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 1,700 journals published worldwide; 90% of coverage is English-language history journals, plus selected journals from major countries, and state & local history journals. All abstracts are in English. Articles, monographs, media, reviews, and dissertations & theses included. Retrospective coverage from 1954.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, documenting the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Full text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more. For those periodicals that continued to publish after 1900, coverage is extended well into the 20th century.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Combining Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
Online publisher for scholarly and professional journals in all subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Articles have been digitized, providing full-image access to the complete runs of over 100 journals. JSTOR is an archive and does not include the current issues of journals nor the most recent four or five years.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Music Magazine Archive (incorporated into Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection) This link opens in a new window
Music Magazine Archive: Rock, Folk and Rap/Hip Hop is a closed series of digital collections focused on music genres of the late 20th and early 21st centuries. Through the lens of music and music journalism, MMA draws together primary sources that support research in areas such as popular culture, history, material culture, gender studies, media studies, and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Coverage of political, social, and public policy issues from 1914 to present. International in scope with some materials in foreign languages.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides current & recent access to the full text of more than 400 scholarly humanities, arts & social science journals. The complete content of each issue is online, including all charts, graphics and images.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts & indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage back to 1952.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations covering areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Covers1973-present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Digital material from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960’s to the 1980’s. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press. Includes materials from Northwestern University's Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections.
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. [Google Scholar Settings Library links to Northwestern University - Find it @ NU (you can choose up to five libraries)]:
Open Access Online Serials
Black Women's Fashion & Lifestyle
Afro Design & Contemporary Arts, Paris
ART | library deco |
Exhibitions & collections, history, news, events and reviews, updated weekly.
Journal of the Black Left Unity Network
Black Camera (past issues)
The Black Film Center/Archive, Indiana University, Bloomington
Black Diaspora Review
Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies, Indiana University, Bloomington.
Fashion, travel, culture 4 multicultural men
Feminist Wire, The ISSN 2326-7348
Co-founded 2011 by Dr. Tamura Lomax.
Journal of Colorism Studies
Intraracial Colorism Project, 2015-
Journal of Research Initiatives
Fayetteville St. U. School of Education
"curating stories from around the web"
Morgan Global Journalism Review
Morgan State University quarterly
Cross-regional, inter-disciplinary work on the global South and its diaspora.
Newsletter exploring anti-Blackness, queerness, feminism and relationships to those subjects.
Studio Museum in Harlem's weekly.
Target Market News
"The Black Consumer Market Authority"
The Undefeated... exploring the intersections of race, sports and culture.
UPTOWN, Luxury, Lifestyle & Living
Founded 2004 with editions in New York, Philadelphia, Charlotte, Atlanta, Detroit, Chicago & Washington, DC.
"Life. Style. Faith. Culture. Social Change." Launched by Rahiel Tesfamariam in 2011.
"International Contemporary Writing."
"a digital salon for black women"