From July 1, 2023 AABD became a component of ProQuest Black Studies Center.

Biographical sketches and essays on African Americans from 1790 to 1950. The Database corresponds to the printed Black Biographical Dictionaries. These sketches have been assembled from biographical dictionaries, yearbooks, directories, histories, personal accounts, and other published sources. The full text of 300 rare books is displayed and searchable in page images, intact with images and illustrations.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

The African American experience contains primary documents, including slave narratives, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other documentation, as well as peer-reviewed scholarly essays plus photographs, maps, and other images covering history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes.

This unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans andcan be cross-searched with African American Newspapers, Afro-Americana Imprints and other Archive of Americana collections. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Searchable collection of poems of 54 African-American poets writing in the 18th and 19th centuries. The bibliographic source for the database is Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975 by W.P. French, et al.

Searchable collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, presenting a record of African American history, literature and culture from the Library Company of Philadelphia.

This important collection of papers spans the majority of twentieth-century American social history and politics, focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.

1820-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society. Includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera primarily in English; select titles in Danish, French, German, Italian, and Swedish.

The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.

Library has access to parts 1 through 6.

With more than 2 million images* (and growing), scholars can easily examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and modern architectural plans from Columbia University.

Composed of approximately 300 curated sub-collections, Artstor supports and enriches study across disciplines, including world events from Magnum Photos, anthropology from Harvard’s Peabody Museum, and archaeology from Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Art Archives and, making it a resource for your whole institution.

Includes wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and the archives for the Washington, European and Middle East bureaus, as well as copy with editorial notes, reporter notebooks, photography and video records.

Presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. Covering1830-1865, the 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show their activities in the U.S., Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany. The collection reproduces in full the 17 reels of microfilmed content.

Black Studies Center includes this electronic index to the Black Literature 1827-1940 microfiche collection, edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers. For citations to content from the Chicago Defender for which full text is available in Black Studies Center, a link is included directly to the relevant article.

Contains stories, folktales, and short fiction by African, African American, and Caribbean authors.

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.

Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations

Black Thought and Culture provides non-fiction monographs, essays, articles, letters, speeches, political leaflets, and interviews written by major American black leaderscovering 250 years of history. Also includes The Black Panther newspaper and Black Panther oral histories.

Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives a view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. The database currently features over 16,000 pages of poetry and prose.

This collection contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president. Reproduction of the originals from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.

Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Also features journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.

Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands published in the 18th and 19th centuries. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, Caribbean Newspapers is the largest online collection of newspapers published in this region.

CARLI Digital Collections is a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members. CARLI Digital Collections is a growing image and special collections research resource.

Drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, this database is comprised of over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections, and focuses on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.

Ethnic American Newspapers offers extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. It enables the study of often-overlooked aspects of the nation's history, politics and culture, covering immigrant contributions to U.S. business, music, science, wars and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.

Volumes 1-3: Online in streaming videos. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.

History Makers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. Provides access to over 61,221 stories from oral history interviews with 1,195 historically significant African Americans are currently available.

This database allows users to trace the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos, as well as video content from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part I: Provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. These are the primary sources that take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of indigenous peoples.

Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882–1986 provides a near complete record of the efforts of the first organization to address Native American interests and rights. This collection includes the contains incoming and outgoing correspondence; organizational records; printed material (including early pamphlets and publications both by the Indian Rights Association and other American Indian and Indian-related organizations); Indian Rights Association annual reports; draft legislation; administrative files, the papers of Indian Rights Association founder Herbert Welsh, photographs (often from Western field trips), materials from the Council on Indian Affairs, and manuscripts and research notes regarding social and cultural Indian traditions.

African American Music Reference brings together biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies about African American experience through music. This includes coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Smithsonian Global Sound is a network of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide, and to foster appreciation for traditional roots music. Through its Web site, Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes to music lovers, students, historians, teachers, and the academic community.

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers thousands of tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums. Hundreds of jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist.

For mobile app access, go to Naxos Northwestern with a browser. Create a Student/Member Playlist Account using your Northwestern email address. Log into app using this Student/Member account email and password.

Provides digital access to 19th century monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Northwestern currently subscribes to: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature: 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Children's Literature and Childhood; Photography: The World through the Lens; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; and, Women: Transnational Networks.

Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., the Oxford African American Studies Center provides articles from Oxfords key African American studies reference works, primary sources with specially written commentaries, images, maps, charts, tables, and timelines.

Provides annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles related to African American Studies, covering key areas including culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

A part of of ProQuest US Newsstream, a collection of nine current Black newspapers from across the United States from 1989-present. Some full text available. Titles include Afro-American Red Star, Call & Post, Chicago Defender, Houston Post, Michigan Chronicle, Muslim Journal, New Journal & Guide, New York Amsterdam News, and Los Angeles Sentinel.

With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T offers comprehensive listings for U.S. doctoral dissertations back to 1861, with extensive coverage of dissertations from many non-U.S. institutions. A number of masters theses are also listed. Thousands of dissertations are available full text, and abstracts are included for dissertations from the mid-1980s forward.

The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century consists of four modules: two modules of Federal Government Records, and two modules of Organizational Records and Personal Papers, offering unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th century fight for freedom.

Northwestern University Library's subscription covers parts 1-6: Part 1: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; Part 2: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; Part 3: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; Part 4: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; Part 5: Special Subjects; Part 6: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files.

Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867, documenting the realities of slavery at the most immediate local level and with amazing candor.

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest contains materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War.

This resource includes works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's including books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Included are 29,000 works based Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/browse/sixt-title

A searchable database of 1960s diaries, letters, autobiographies, and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Subjects covered in this resource encompass arts, music, leisure, Civil Rights, counter-culture, law, government, mass media, New Left and the emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.

The Sixties in Video contains fifty hours of primary footage and secondary documentaries that explore the key events of the sixties and early seventies, including the civil rights movement, the women’s rights movement and the sexual revolution. It features interviews with major players of the decade, including political leaders John F. Kennedy, Robert Kennedy, and Richard Nixon, and revolutionaries such as Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Cesar Chavez, and Elaine Brown.

This digital collection brings together primary sources from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world documenting key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries.

In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.

Southern Plantation Records document the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Plantation records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners.

Covers primarily periodical literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.

Searchable collection of poems from African-American poets of the 20th century.

Declassified Documents Reference System is a multi-disciplinary, comprehensive source whic covers the political, social, and economic development and forces in post-World War II America. This single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.

Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of womens activism in public life.

Primary resources of history, literature, & culture @ the University Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Stanford University, the King Center for Nonviolent Social Change and the King estate's venture to publish a 14 volume annotated collection of King’s papers, sermons, speeches,correspondence, and other materials.

This collection contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president. Reproduction of the originals from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library.