"Boston University’s Center for Antiracist Research and The Boston Globe are collaborating to resurrect and reimagine The Emancipator, the first abolitionist newspaper in the United States, founded more than 200 years ago."
Full text: Afro-American Red Star (DC), Call & Post (Cleveland), Chicago Defender, Michigan Chronicle, Milwaukee Courier, Amsterdam News (NY), (Los Angeles) Sentinel and Washington Informer (DC). Citation only: Houston Post, Muslim Journal, and New Journal & Guide (Norfolk, VA).
v. 1. Annotated index of letters in the Philanthropist, Emancipator, Genius of universal emancipation, Abolition intelligencer, African observer, and the Liberator, 1817-1845.--v. 2. Annotated index of letters in the Liberator, Anti-slavery record, Human rights, and the Observer, 1835-1865.--v. 3. Annotated index of letters in the Friend of man, Pennsylvania freeman, Advocate of freedom, and American & foreign anti-slavery reporter, 1836-1854.--v. 4. Annotated index of letters in the National anti-slavery standard, 1840-1860.--v. 5. Annotated index of letters in the National anti-slavery standard, 1861-1871.
Full text from 600+ U.S. and 700+ international sources. African American newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel, L.A. Watts Times, Our Weekly (Los Angeles), Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Indianapolis Recorder, Michigan FrontPage (Detroit), Michigan Chronicle (Detroit), New Citizens Press (Lansing, MI), Jackson Advocate (MS), Our Time Press (Brooklyn, NY), New Pittsburgh Courier, Tri-State Defender (Memphis, TN), Knoxville Enlightener (TN), Chattanooga Courier (TN), Nashville Pride (TN), Murfreesboro Vision (TN) & Tennessee Tribune (Nashville, TN).
Ethnic American Newspapers offers extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history. It enables the study of often-overlooked aspects of the nation's history, politics and culture, covering immigrant contributions to U.S. business, music, science, wars and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during this period. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
Currently links to over 1000 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US and Caribbean newspapers with archival digital content as possible. From the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.
Nexis Uni features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
Full-text microfilmed newspapers digitized: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, New York Times, American Banker, Barron's, Boston Globe and USA Today. Most from 2008 to 2-3 months ago.
Provides full-text PDF articles from major U.S. newspapers: New York Times (1851-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Washington Post (1877-1992), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Boston Globe (1872-1925), Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004),and others.
News produced since 2009 by 20 TV channels. Includes CNN, Fox News, NBC News, PBS, and eyewitness news on local television stations. Free with permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Full text from 1980's to present. Local, regional & national newspapers including the the New York Daily News, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Denver Post, Christian Science Monitor, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, USA Today.
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present, funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities with technical assistance is furnished by the Library of Congress.
List of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives. Most are scanned from microfilm into pdf, gif or similar graphic formats and many of the graphic archives have been indexed into searchable text databases utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) technology.