Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources: A Selection of Projects and Databases
Avalon Project at the Yale Law School
Includes full-text of selected documents in history, law, and diplomacy, ranging from pre-18th through the 20th centuries.
Cold War International History Project
Hosted by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, The Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the Cold War, in particular new findings from previously inaccessible sources on "the other side" -- the former Communist world.
Documenting the American South
From the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hil.
A collection of sources on the history, literature and culture of the American south from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Emma Goldman Papers
Selected documents and photographs relating to Emma Goldman's life and work as well as indexes to thousands of other documents and photographs available in collections around the world.
Provides full-text versions of selected FBI files. Note that Northwestern has a very good collection of microfilmed FBI files. Please check NUsearch for files which may not be available online.
FRASER. Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System
History and Politics Out Loud (HPOL)
Multimedia database documenting and delivering authoritative audio relevant to American history and politics.
Homicide in Chicago, 1870-1930
The history of homicide in Chicago, 1870-1930. Based on over 11,0000 Chicago Police Department homicide reports.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Lincoln/Net, Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitization Project
This site presents historical materials from Abraham Lincoln's Illinois years (1830-1861), including Lincoln's writings and speeches, as well as other materials illuminating antebellum Illinois.
The Life and Times of Florence Kelley: Florence Kelley in Chicago 1891-1899
A digital archive on the life and times of Florence Kelley, the first woman factory inspector in the United States and resident of Hull House.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
Global forum for the Center of Military History to distribute historical information and products to inform, educate and professionally develop the soldiers and leadership of the U.S. Army.
The Vietnam Center & Sam Johnson Vietnam Archive
Collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience.
Women Working, 1800-1930
From Harvard University Library. An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.