Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Magazines and periodicals can be found in many databases. Below are links to some specific sources and to some databases that contain historical content. Also see Access World News which provides both current and historical magazine content; see especially the America's News Magazines section. Consult the libraries' News Sources research guide for more suggestions.
VogueArchive contains theentire runof Vogue magazine (U.S. edition), from1892 to the current issue. All content, including covers, images, fold-outs,and advertisements, is fully searchable and updatedmonthly.
Women's Magazine Archive
This database provides access to the complete archives of the foremost consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.
African American Historical Serials Collection
This unique resource documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans andcan be cross-searched with African American Newspapers, Afro-Americana Imprints and other Archive of Americana collections. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, documenting the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
American Periodicals Series
Full text database of American periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many more. For those periodicals that continued to publish after 1900, coverage is extended well into the 20th century.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) provides online access to sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is a full text archive of millions of articles published in over 700 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in English and other Western European languages. Coverage is from 1802 to 2005.
Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is a database of table-of-contents information for thousands of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from the 1770s to 2005, in English and other Western European languages. Probably the most inclusive database of historical article citations anywhere.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Indexes articles published in the most important popular magazines published in the United States from 1890 until 1982.Provides some links to full text. A key resource for identifying what was published in the popular press during this era.