Africa MapsChronologiesFBI Surveillance FilesGovernment InformationOrganizations & Research InstitutesPh.D. Reading listStatistics / Public Opinion
ArchivesMuseumsOther Libraries
Guides, Handouts & TutorialsFaculty publicationsNorthwestern University alumni publicationsNorthwestern University Press
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African American Studies   Tags: african american studies, black studies, underground railroad  

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/africanamerican Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Chat with @AALibnNU

 

What's New

Cover Art
Black Studies in Video
Alexander Street Press collection of documentaries, newsreels, interviews & archival footage surveying the evolution of Black culture in the U.S. Current release has 218 videos totaling 173 hours.

Cover Art
ProQuest History Vault: NAACP Papers
Publication Date: Began in 2012.
Northwestern University Library’s subscription covers parts 1 and 2: The Papers of the NAACP, Part 1: Meetings of the Board of Directors, Records of Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and Special Reports, 1909-1950; and Papers of the NAACP, Part 02: 1919-1939, Personal Correspondence of Selected NAACP Officials.

Find me here!

Key Resources

  • African American Experience
    Contains material from print reference titles & multivolume sets, 67 Negro Universities Press texts, 3,500 WPA slave narratives, and primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers. Contains a deep backlist of reference books and monographs, many now available in electronic format for the first time.
  • Black Studies Center  
      
    Treasure trove of online resources created by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library. Includes essays, dissertations, articles from journals, and the Chicago Defender , 1909-1975; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993; and, Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002.
  • Black Thought and Culture
    Provides non-fiction monographs, essays, articles, letters, speeches, political leaflets, and interviews written by major American black leaders covering 250 years of history. Also includes The Black Panther newspaper and Black Panther Party oral histories.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center  
      
    Includes articles from Oxford University Press reference sources, primary sources, images, maps, charts & tables, multimedia, timelines, and biographies.

Recent Additions

Blog of new online resources added to the University Library's collections.

Librarian

Profile Image
Kathleen E. Bethel
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive, Room 2622
Evanston, IL 60208
847.491.2173
847.467.7899 fax
Send Email
 
Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip