Your Librarian
Anne Zald
she/her
Contact:
Anne Zald
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
847-467-6441
Judicial Branch
- Constitution of the United States, Analysis and Interpretation The U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States, editions from 1992-present.
- Constitution of the United States, CRS Annotated Online version of Congressional Research Service edition, links to Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Code, and the Code of Federal Regulations, as well as enhancing navigation through search, breadcrumbs, linked footnotes and tables of contents.
- The Amendment Project (TAP) "...a searchable archive of the full text of nearly every amendment to the U.S. Constitution proposed in Congress between 1789 and 2022 (more than 11,000 proposals); records of petitions introduced in Congress between 1789 and 1949 that propose, support, or oppose constitutional amendments (more than 9,000 petitions); and thousands of proposed amendments that never made it to Congress."
- Federal Judicial Center The research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government.
- United States Courts Information about the structure and operations of federal courts, including information about specific courts, judges, access to court records. statistics, rules and policies.
- United States Courts Opinions Opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts April 2004 to present.
U.S. Supreme Court
Supreme Court of the United States
- Opinions (1991- ) via Court website
- Opinions (1893- ) via FindLaw
- Opinions (1754- ) via Hein Online
U.S. Reports -- Only the printed bound volumes of the United States Reports contain the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls. For bound volumes see NUSearch
- Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new windowSupreme Court Insight, 1933-present, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document-by-document basis. – Publisher
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new windowProvides access to legal briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
Case Law
- Federal Court OpinionsAccess to opinions from selected U.S. appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. Incomplete content, dating back to April 2004.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIn addition to decisions of the US Supreme Court (1790-present), this database provides access to decisions of the following: The United States Courts of Appeal from 1789; The United States District Courts from 1789; The United States Bankruptcy Courts from October 1979; Federal Circuit Courts (1st-11th Circuit, DC Circuit, Federal Circuit) and various specialty federal courts.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowHein Online provides access to a vast PDF collection of legal research materials, including law journals (many of which date back to the 1800s) and a wide range of primary sources on the history of Anglo-American law.