Northwestern University Libraries have been a U.S. Federal Depository Library since 1876. Our collection includes materials in paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, DVD formats and online formats. This guide is based on a similar guide by Kelly Smith at UCSD.
Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913); Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-2007); Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2009); Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (2007-2015); and various additional publications relating to the Presidency, with scattered date coverage.
1992-present. Consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Available to all.
Correspondence and other writings from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 181,000 searchable documents, fully annotated.
Compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), began in 1957. Presidents GHW Bush, Clinton, GW Bush, and Obama are here, freely available to all. Ronald Reagan's speeches, statements and papers (1981-1989) made available by the Office of the Press Secretary are hosted by the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library website.
Includes addresses & remarks, appointments & nominations, bill signings & vetoes, communications to Congress & federal agencies, executive orders, media interviews, joint statements, letters & messages, meetings with foreign leaders and international officials, proclamations, resignations & retirements, and statements by the President. Note: Volumes for 1991- are freely available to all users via GPO. See also the Presidential Documents Mobile App for materials 2009 to present.
Presidential proclamations, signing statements, speeches, communications to agencies & Congress, appointments & nominations, and materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Note: Volumes for 1992- are freely available to all users via GPO. See also the Presidential Documents Mobile App for materials 2009 to present.
(1996- ). Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. The 2017 Budget was released 2/11/2016 on www.govinfo.gov. See also Budget of the US Government FY17 Mobile App
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. Available to all.
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. See also the List of CFR Sections Affected, which lists proposed, new, and amended regulations published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision of the CFR. Note: Volumes for 1996- are freely available to all users via GPO.
Annual report (1947- ) that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Note: 1947- are freely available to all users: 1995-present via GPO and 1947-present via FRASER
Identifies major sources for Presidential directives, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, memoranda, and other documents. The site also links to many sources, such as CRS reports, that explain these documents. See also Presidential Documents Mobile App for access to Executive Orders 2009 to present.
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Note: volumes for 1994- are also freely available to all users via GPO.
This IMLS-funded portal provides free, centralized searching across presidential collections housed at the Miller Center (UVa), NARA's Presidential Libraries, state historical societies, museums, and university collections.
This app allows mobile access to documents from the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents and includes executive orders, speeches, statements, approved acts, nominations submitted to the Senate, and press releases released by the White House Press Secretary beginning in 2009.
Subjects: Government Information; Social Science Data; Regulatory Compliance
Main Library Room 1214
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208