Skip to main content

News Sources: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

The Northwestern University Library subscribes to a large amount of historical newspaper content listed on this page. In addition there are a number of freely available historical newspaper collections available online as well.

Proquest Historical Newspapers

The ProQuest Historical Newspaper database provides full-text and full-image articles from the newspapers listed below. Within the data ranges listed every page from every issue is inlcuded in PDF files.

Other Historical Newspaper Sources

  • 19th century U.S. newspapers digital archive
    Provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
    Dates covered: 1800-1899
  • 19th century British Library newspapers
    Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included.
    Dates covered: 1800-1913
  • African-American newspapers, 1827-1998
    The titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
    Dates covered: 1827-1998
  • Brooklyn Daily Eagle
    Produced by the Brooklyn Public Library this site provides online access to the Brooklyn Daily Eagle for October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902
    Dates covered: 1841-1902
  • Early American newspapers (1690-1876)
    Based largely on Clarence Brigham’s ’History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, this online collection offers cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images.
    Dates covered: 1690-1876
  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service
    This resource contains reports created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
    Dates covered: 1941-1996
  • Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
    Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this online collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. This resource also includes many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
    Dates covered: 1808-1980
  • Hyde Park Herald
    This digital collection includesevery known copy of The Hyde Park Herald from 1882 until 2009. This collection provides a searchable history of the Hyde Park neighborhood on Chicago's South Side.
    Dates covered: 1882-2009

Newspapers

 

Contact Info:
Periodicals and Newspapers Reading Room
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Dr.
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-7633  (*Circulation desk)
Send Email