Research Guides: News Sources: Latin American Studies

Finding Newspaper Articles from Latin America

The databases for Latin American newspapers are ordered below from most historical to most current.

World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
This is a searchable collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and South Asia. This collection can be cross searched with the America's Historical Newspaper collection.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to over 6,000 US and foreign full-text news and business publications. Factiva also includes reports, financials, stock quotes and other investment data on public companies. Some titles listed are not available to academic library users. These titles cannot be blocked from the title list.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access is usually to the last 3 months of issues, but coverage varies.

Provides access to over 7,000 titles from 100+ countries in 60+ languages, on desktop computers, tablets and mobile devices.

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico
Published by UNAM and the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico, this database includes page images and full-text search of nearly 600 titles ranging from 1722 to 1978. Material still covered by copyright is accessible only at the Biblioteca Nacional de Mexico.
Hemeroteca Digital Brasileiria
Sponsored by the National Library of Brazil, this database includes page images and full-text search of titles from the 18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. In Portuguese.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. Coverage varies but covers the 20th to 21st century.
NewspaperMap.com
Google Maps' site of the world's online newspapers sites. Find & translate some 10,000 newspapers.

The databases below are for news on or by the Latino/Hispanic diaspora in the United States.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
A compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image articles from: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1996), The Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Defender (1909 - 2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-2013), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922), Cleveland Call and Post (1934–2010), Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), The Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003), Irish Times and the Weekly Irish Times (1859-2020), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2014), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), The New York Times (1851-2018), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Louis American (1949-2010), The Times of India (1838-2001), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), The Washington Post (1877-2006), Le Monde (1944-2000), Indianapolis Star (1903-2004)

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press / University of Arizona
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Young Lords Newspaper Collection
In the 1950's, a variety of ethnic groups resided in the Lincoln Park area and by the early 1960's a substantial Puerto Rican community was established around the south-western borders of the neighborhood. At this time, Orlando Davila formed the Young Lords to counter the mounting antagonism against Puerto Ricans by other youth gangs. In 1964, Jose (Cha-Cha) Jimenez assumed the leadership of the Young Lords. In the late 1960's the Young Lords directed their activities to the social and economic concerns that were prevalent in the Puerto Rican community of Lincoln Park. The various newspapers published by the organization document their concerns and their actions.

Latin American Studies guide

For more information and other sources please see the Latim American Studies research guide.