Current Newspapers in Print
Other Print Newspapers
- Cooperative African Newspapers ProjectThis is a centralized electronic database of holdings information for collections in North America, for newspapers published in sub-Saharan Africa. It is hosted by Center for Research Libraries.
- Currently received newspapers listWe have an extensive collection of newspapers from Africa.
Newspapers - Electronic
- AllAfrica.com This link opens in a new windowContains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch presents multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource covering 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to over 6,000 US and foreign full-text news and business publications. Factiva also includes reports, financials, stock quotes and other investment data on public companies. Some titles listed are not available to academic library users. These titles cannot be blocked from the title list.
- Newspaper MapAn interactive map of the world's newspapers, including links to each paper's web site.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess is usually to the last 3 months of issues, but coverage varies.
Provides access to over 7,000 titles from 100+ countries in 60+ languages, on desktop computers, tablets and mobile devices. - World News Connection This link opens in a new windowTranslation into English of non-U.S. broadcasts, web postings, newspapers, wire services, and other news sources from hundreds of countries that were monitored for national security purposes. Coverage is 1995-2013. Includes political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events.
How to Search for Country-Specific Newspapers in NUSearch
To identify current and historic newspapers by country, perform a Subject search which contains phrase, in this fashion:
- [City] ([Country]) -- Newspapers
The results will include materials held
- within our collections
- in print
- on film
- online within our databases/li>
- at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) for ILL requests.
Online Sources of Historical Newspapers
- Al-Ahram Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Al-Ahram digital archive contains all obtainable published issues from 1875 on, with an additional year’s worth of content added on an annual basis. The archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941 - 1996 This link opens in a new windowCreated by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
- Gale Primary Resources This link opens in a new windowGale Primary Sources brings the thoughts, words, and actions of past centuries into the present for a comprehensive research experience. With authoritative content and powerful search technologies, this platform has been thoughtfully designed to help students and researchers examine literary, political, and social culture of the last 500 years and develop a more meaningful understanding of how history continues to impact the world today. - Publisher
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to the Illustrated London News for its entire run from 1842 through 2003.
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers - East ViewFrom the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have stood at the crossroads of history. This resource includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
- Open Access Historical Newspapers and Other Periodicals in Middle East & Islamic StudiesMost titles on the list have been digitized by independent projects across the globe and may not have been fully cataloged. It is often difficult to find and access them on the web or through catalogs such as HathiTrust, AMEEL, Gallica, Revues, WorldCat, etc. From AMIR.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowThis is a searchable collection of 19th and 20th century historical newspapers from Latin America, Africa, and South Asia. This collection can be cross searched with the America's Historical Newspaper collection.
Blogs and Other Online News Sources
- Arabist Arabist.net was launched in Cairo in November 2003, by Issandr El Amrani, partly as response to the the lack of interest in the domestic politics of Arab countries in much Western media. It focuses on Egypt but tries to follow broader issues in the Arab world, US policy in the Middle East, the Israeli-Palestinian in the Middle East, and cultural developments throughout the region.
- Maghreb Intelligence Maghreb Intelligence.com est une revue en ligne généraliste d’information spécialisée dans les pays du Maghreb et ceux du pourtour méditerranéen. Le site est édité par Global Media Strategic Consulting, société basée à Rabat.
- Nawaat Nawaat.org est un blog collectif indépendant animé par des Tunisiens. Il donne la parole à tous ceux qui, par leur engagement citoyen, la prennent, la portent et la diffusent. Nos choix éditoriaux sont entre autres guidés par les préoccupations qui affectent le quotidien de nos compatriotes et de nos semblables.
Middle East and North Africa Studies research guide
For more information and other sources please see the Middle East and North Africa Studies research guide.