NU Writing Resources
- The Writing Place The Writing Place is Northwestern’s center for peer writing consultations. Whether you are writing a paper for a class, composing application letters and essays, or working on some other writing project, a Writing Place consultant can help you at any stage of the writing process, from talking about ideas to developing a plan to revising and editing a draft.
- NUWrite Welcome to NuWrite, Northwestern University’s online writing resources, providing materials about writing and teaching writing that come from Northwestern faculty in many disciplines.
Citation Tools
Music Research and Writing Guides
- Music Reference and Research Materials byCall Number: ML113 .D83 1994ISBN: 0028708229Publication Date: 1994-02-01
- Music Library & Research Skills by Ch. 1. Libraries and the universe of information on music -- Ch. 2. Bibliographies of music literature -- Ch. 3. Dictionaries and encyclopedias -- Ch. 4. Composers, performers, and composer-performers : selected bibliographic and dictionary sources -- Ch. 5. Histories of music and related subjects -- Ch. 6. Periodicals, periodical indexes, and databases -- Ch. 7. Discographies -- Ch. 8. From manuscript to printed edition -- Ch. 9. Bibliographies of music -- Ch. 10. Composer thematic catalogs -- Ch. 11. Text translations and guides to pronunciation -- Ch. 12. Resources for careers in music and other miscellaneous tools.Call Number: ML3797.G68 M8ISBN: 97801315843410131584340Publication Date: 2009
Music Research by
Clear, concise, and practical, the third edition of Music Research: A Handbook introduces students to the major print and electronic research tools available today. With a strong focus on the connection between music and writing, this comprehensive guide is ideal for use in both undergraduateand graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers.
Call Number: ML113 .S28 2013ISBN: 9780190644505Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Writing about Music by
Helping users write clear, convincing, persuasive prose on musical topics, this practical guide focuses on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music-with clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper. Updated to reflect the latest research methodology, resources, and technology, it continues to offer strong coverage on research, organization, drafting and editing-and includes a thorough section on basic writing skills. Contains complete chapters on writing about music, analysis and research, getting started, writing a research paper (from choosing a topic through outlining, writing the draft, editing and revising), questions of format, other kinds of writing projects (i.e., seminar presentations, concert reports, program notes), writing styles, and common writing problem. Covers the latest musicological research and new resources for researching both print and electronic publications. Discusses writing papers on a PC, and provides a sample paper in the appendix that illustrates matters of format and discusses the events in the musical work. For writers.
Call Number: ML3797 .W54 2008ISBN: 0136157785Publication Date: 2007-12-29
A Short Guide to Writing about Music by
Written in a clear and conversational style, A Short Guide to Writing About Music,2e examines a wide range of writing assignments for music courses at all levels of the undergraduate curriculum. Employing a variety of writing samples as a means to illustrate effective writing, this brief and inexpensive text teaches writers how to deftly research and write about music.
Call Number: ML3797.B4 S5 2007ISBN: 9780321187918Publication Date: 2006-04-20
Writing about Music by
How do you spell "Mendelssohn"? Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? Is it "premiere" or "premi#65533;re"? The answers and much more can be found in this completely revised and updated resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with classical music in print. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, another explains the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files. A new section outlines best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words.
Call Number: ML3797 .W75 2008ISBN: 9780520256187Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Style Manuals & Citation Guides
Chicago
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226430577Publication Date: 2018-04-16
MLA
- Purdue OWLDeveloped at Purdue University, this site shows examples for MLA citations, footnotes/end notes, and works lists
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01
