Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access Databases @ Home
Off campus access is available for all the streaming audio databases. For best results, use a VPN (virtual private network) connection. This makes off campus Internet traffic appear as if it is originating from on campus, and is a very secure, reliable connection. For instructions on how to set up VPN, go here:
Help with VPN Settings
For Troubleshooting, Contact NUIT:
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
For access to Naxos Music Library via mobile app, click here
Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world's largest online classical music library. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.
DRAM This link opens in a new window
DRAM offers streaming access to a large catalogue of American music from folk, opera, Native American, jazz, electronic and beyond. Included are complete liner notes, essays, bibliographies and discographies.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound is a network of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide, and to foster appreciation for traditional roots music. Through its Web site, Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes to music lovers, students, historians, teachers, and the academic community.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library Jazz offers thousands of tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums. Hundreds of jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist.
The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Musical theatre recordings included.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window Note:
Registered users access through link above. Log in prior to each use.
Note: First time users: register using a Northwestern email address and unique password.
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. Here you can experience the orchestra performing live at the Philharmonie in Berlin in more than 30 broadcasts every year. Just a few days after each broadcast, a recording of the concert is then available to watch in the archive. Also includes music-related documentaries and interviews.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Online collection of high definition videos of classical music, operas and ballets.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access This link opens in a new window
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the worlds best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
To view subtitles for videos in Naxos that have them, select the language desired ONLY from the “Libretto/text” tab to the right of the video player.
A performing arts video library presenting more than 2600 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Subtitles are available in 5 different languages and libretti are often included. Search videos by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival. Note: Access is limited to 20 users at a time, please log off when finished.
Qwest TV This link opens in a new window
Qwest TV is a subscription video streaming channel dedicated to jazz, soul, funk, and world music. The catalog features over 500 concerts, award-wining documentaries, rare archival footage and exclusive content. Each video is accompanied by notes written by a journalists and music experts. There are also exclusive playlists personally curated by legends such as Chick Corea, Michael League, Quincy Jones, Ed Motta and many more.