Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Jewish Studies encompass a wide variety of subject areas.
In addition to the resources listed here, be sure to consult other research guides for more help.
Places to start
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture & History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more.
ATLA Full-Text Plus Religion Database
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
Ancient Hebrew Studies Database
The Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database project aims to provide a structured and critical survey of scholarly literature on the vocabulary of classical Hebrew. As it grows, it will offer an in-depth resource to complement traditional dictionaries, and also provide pointers to further research. This international, cooperative project involves a growing number of research centres with coordination provided by Leiden.
Jewish Studies at Northwestern
Crown Family Center for Jewish Studies
- The Center now has 17 affiliated faculty members offering approximately
40 quarter courses per year on historical, literary, philosophical,
political, and religious topics, as well as in the study of Hebrew and
Yiddish. Students can expect to find classes that satisfy their
curiosity about nearly all dimensions of Jewish civilization, from the
biblical period to the present day.
Northwestern University Department of Religion
- The Department of Religious Studies at Northwestern University is a
diverse community of scholars, comprising outstanding professors,
graduate students and undergraduate majors and minors, who study the
history, texts and lived religious practices that have shaped our world.
Home to 14 full-time faculty and numerous other visiting faculty and
joint appointments, the department is known for its breadth,
interdisciplinary emphasis, excellence in teaching and award winning
NU Fiedler Hillel
- Fiedler Hillel is the foundation for Jewish life on campus. Its mission is to inspire every Jewish student to make an enduring commitment to Jewish life.
Summer Institute on the Holocaust and Jewish Civilization
- This renowned program is
an intensive two-week course of study designed to broaden and deepen the
background of current and prospective Holocaust educators. It is open
to faculty at the college or university level and to graduate students
who are planning on teaching Holocaust-related courses. The Institute is
ideal for those with a knowledge of one disciplinary approach to the
Holocaust but who are looking to broaden their interdisciplinary