Find Articles
The following are recommended starting points for finding articles in the interdisciplinary field of Gender & Sexuality Studies. Supplement search results from GenderWatch or Gender Studies Database with searches in databases for one or more of the subject disciplines relevant to your topic and listed below under broad categories. The complete A-Z Database List can be browsed or searched using pre-set subject, database type, and vendor filters.
Jump to sections below: Gender | Multidisciplinary | Humanities | Social Sciences | Health Sciences | Women's Magazines | Google Scholar
Gender
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. - Publisher
- GLBT PeriodicalsHere are found lists of GLBT periodicals in the McCormick Library. GLBT periodicals held in the Main Library collections are not listed here. Many of these periodicals are incomplete runs, in some cases we possess only a single issue.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowA four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAlternative Press Index is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, left, and radical journals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism.
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowCovers the period 1969 through to 1990. This bibliographic database contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians, the coverage is both international and interdisciplinary.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Ethnic Diversity Source supports the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. - Publisher
- Cite Black AuthorsWe seek to enhance recognition and citation of Black academic voices . . . To achieve our long-term goal of equitable representation of Black voices in cited work, we will create and maintain a searchable, dynamically grown database of work authored by Black academics.
- Journals Online ProjectGoals are to increase the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries so that the research outputs produced in these countries can be found, shared and used more effectively.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowNot all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. Subject coverage : Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering ; Life and Health Sciences ; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics ; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books.Powerful tools allow you to search and see what articles in the database have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
Humanities
| Art/Architecture | Film/TV | History | Literature/Linguistics | Music | Performance Studies | Philosophy | Religion
Art / Architecture
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source provides indexing and abstracting for journals, magazines and books covering topics, including art in all media, art history and criticism, architecture, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts and advertising, product design, interior design, costume and set design, and television, video, & film from all parts of the world and all periods of time. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting for journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage is international and includes modern and contemporary art forms, both famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe Avery Index to Architectural Periodicalsindexesarticles published in U.S. and foreign journals 1930-present coveringinternational, scholarly and popular periodical literature on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. It also provides citation records for architects' obituaries.Subjects include architecture, city planning, conservation and restoration, interior design, museums, and sustainable design.
Film / TV
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowOffers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
History
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database indexes academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Literature / Linguistics
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations with approximately 14,000 new references added every year. Coverage includes the fields of descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Music
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRILM offers broad international coverage base. It includes music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes, provided the items are of scholarly interest. Topics include historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields.
- Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals) This link opens in a new windowMusic Periodicals Database is an outstanding resource used to find articles in music journals. It enables you to access articles on a comprehensive variety of musical subjects, styles, and genres. Covers 1874-present.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of music, including history, musicology, ethnomusicology, music education, music therapy, acoustics, composition, music theory, performance practice, and popular music. Music Index provides citations to articles published in approximately American and foreign music journals, citations to dissertations and some books, as well as concert, sound recording and book reviews, and includes indexing by subject heading, title, book author, periodical, date, and keyword.
Performance Studies
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Covers 1984-present.
Philosophy
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher's Index provides access to articles in the field of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. For many years the standard index to the philosophical literature.
- PhilPapers This link opens in a new windowA index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Sources include journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by philosophers. Aims to be comprehensive for philosophical publications back to the beginnings of printing in the 15th century.
Religion
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowThe ATLA database provides citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all areas of religious studies. Included in this database is the ATLA Serials collection which contains full text coverage of 250 Religion and Theology journals. This database includes over 1.8 million citations. Incorporates ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online .
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowCitations to over 240,000 articles and monographs dealing with all aspects of Muslim life and Middle Eastern studies, including history, economics, religion and theology, law, art and architecture, and philosophy. Also included are citations to conference papers and presentations, memorial volumes and collected essays.
- RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowThis database is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowCombining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowFamily & Society Studies Worldwide covers research, policy, and practice literature in family science, family studies, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers 1970-present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndex focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowCovers primarily periodical literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
- Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 21,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. - Publisher
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers It provides indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowOne simultaneous user, click on " End Session" then close your browser to log out. Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
- Global Health Archive This link opens in a new windowGlobal Health Archive provides information on public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology, and mycology. This digital archive puts current international and public health problems into an historical context. Global Health Archive contains information on issues that are still being researched today, including: Bioterrorism Disease control Patent protection Food security and malnutrition The effects of economic development on health and many more
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
- Harper's Bazaar ArchiveA comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month. Reproduced in high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and indexing, this resource provides access to a chronicle of 20th century American and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering a cultural lens into the modern era."--Web site
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowVogueArchive contains theentire runof Vogue magazine (U.S. edition), from1892 to the current issue. All content, including covers, images, fold-outs,and advertisements, is fully searchable and updatedmonthly.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the complete archives of the foremost consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
- Womens Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
Google Scholar
If you use Google Scholar, be sure to customize your Google account settings to include links to NUL subscription content. This will ensure that you see fewer paywalls, that request for money before you can see the full-text of an article. For articles that are not available freely, or through the NU Libraries, you can request a copy using the NU Libraries' InterLibrary Loan service.
The following short handout, or video, will take you through the process of customizing your Google account.
- Google Scholar Settings To Avoid PaywallsJust a few easy steps to set your Google Scholar settings to include links to NU Libraries subscription content and avoid pay walls!
Select Keywords & Search with Keywords
These short videos review basic search skills you need to use in library databases to identify research articles, books, videos, and other formats of research material.
1) Choosing Keywords
2) Searching with Keywords