Sex and Sexuality This link opens in a new window
"This resource explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender and sexual behaviors, in America and beyond, during the nineteenth to twenty-first centuries. Sex & Sexuality provides unprecedented access to a wealth of essential primary sources collated by prominent sex researchers and sexologists, community activists, official organizations, social reformers, and individuals. This resource aims to provide an insight into the wide-ranging breadth and experience of human sexuality from all angles, for example scientific, historical attitudes, sexuality, and sexual behaviours."--Nature and Scope page."--Nature and Scope page.
Module 1 presents correspondence, research papers and records spanning the tenures of the first three Kinsey Institute directors; Dr Alfred C. Kinsey (1947-1956), Dr Paul H. Gebhard (1956-1982) and Dr June Reinisch (1982-1993). Module 2 is focused upon the experiences of individuals from across the spectrum of human sexuality, including heterosexual and LGBTQI+ experiences, at different times in history--specifically from the nineteenth century to the present day. It also covers the criminalization of sexuality, both in terms of sex work and also the relentless prosecution and persecution of primarily men for "homosexual acts." Includes information on the Stonewall riots and the resulting movements for change, the beginning of the Pride parades, and the devastating HIV/AIDs crisis. Module 2 includes further collections from the Kinsey institute as well as collections from the ONE Archives at the USC Libraries, and The National Archives, UK, plus the Edward Carpenter Papers, the Norman Haire Collection, the National Lesbian and Gay Survey, and the Anne Lister Diaries.