Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
New
This unique collection of documents brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American history. Its quantity and quality offers a wonderful overview of American history alongside some deep research strands. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945. - Publisher
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
New
Explore a wide range of primary source material, including printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content revealing the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere. The unique material in this collection has been sourced from across the globe to reflect a wide range of food cultures and traditions, creating an unparalleled resource for research. – Publisher
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 This link opens in a new window
New
Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda. Strong relations following the signing of the Treaty of Versailles were tested then ultimately destroyed, and by December 1941, Japan and the United Kingdom were on opposing sides of the Second World War. - Publisher
Frontier Life This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
The primary source documents digitised and collected here tell the story of some of these frontiers in North America, Australasia and Africa, allowing scholars to better understand the nature and significance of these regions at various points from the eighteenth century up until the twentieth century. – Publisher
Gilded Age and Progressive Era This link opens in a new window
New
Explore America’s transformative age of industrialization, expanding wealth, inequality and social change. This resource aims to showcase the transformation of America into a modern, urban, industrial global power through business, legal and personal papers. Technological progress and extreme wealth for the few, contrasted with stark inequality and endemic poverty for much of America's population. – Publisher
Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
New
The Grand Tour was a rite of passage for many wealthy and aristocratic young men, and some women, of the eighteenth century and a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the greatest artists, writers and thinkers of the time. These accounts of the British abroad, c. 1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works, including many from private sources, allows scholars to compare a range of documents on the history of this travel. – Publisher
New
Alternate Name(s): Leisure Travel and Mass Culture Leisure Travel & Mass Culture
This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world. - Publisher
New
Alternate Name(s): Seventeenth and eighteenth century poetry from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds Literary Manuscripts Leeds Literary Manuscripts from the Brotherton Library
The focus of this collection is to provide direct access to facsimile images of verses as catalogued in the University of Leeds Brotherton Library’s BCMSV database. The manuscripts range from contemporary copies of poems by writers like Colvil, Dryden, Fairfax and Pope to popular tags and epitaphs. Many of the manuscripts are miscellanies and commonplace books which have never previously been indexed. - Publisher
New
Alternate Name(s): Literary Manuscripts from the Berg Collection of the New York Public Library
Literary Manuscripts is drawn from the nineteenth century holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature at the New York Public Library. While the holdings of the Berg extend from 1480 to the present day, its most extensive holdings date from the nineteenth century. - Publisher
Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
New
Only five major letter collections exist from fifteenth-century England, and they are all available here in Medieval Family Life. These letter collections and associated manuscripts take the user into the world of medieval families, businesses, relationships, trade, politics and communities. A plethora of topics are covered in these collections, from arranging advantageous marriages and inheritances, through estate management and financial dealings to women and their role in the family. Arguments between parents and children, births, deaths, acts of violence, lawsuits and incidents from everyday social and domestic life are all present. - Publisher
Nineteenth Century Literary Society This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): The John Murray Publishing Archive 19th Century Literary Society
Nineteenth Century Literary Society makes available more than 1,400 items from the archive of the historic John Murray publishing company. Held by the National Library of Scotland since 2006 and added to the UNESCO Register of World Memory in 2011, the Murray collection comprises one of the world’s most important literary archives. Primary source materials span the entirety of the long nineteenth century and document the golden era of the House of Murray from its inception in 1768. - Publisher
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Service Newspapers of World War II Service Newspapers of World War Two
The collection consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Polish, Hebrew, Afrikaans, Swahili, and African dialects. - Publisher
Shakespeare's Globe Archive This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance
Shakespeare’s Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance documents the performance and construction history of the new Globe and the indoor theatre space of the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. The material in this archive will be essential to any students or researchers interested in Shakespeare in performance, theatre history, early-modern theatre and the cultural history of Shakespeare. – Publisher
Shakespeare's Words This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Shakespeareswords.com
ShakespearesWords.com is an website and database based on the book Shakespeare's Words: A Glossary & Companion. It contains abbreviations, symbols, glossary panals, frequently encountered words, Shakespearean circles, synopses, and dramatis personae and much more.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
New
Explore domestic life, leisure and the material culture of nineteenth- and twentieth-century America through the rich and varied material presented in Trade Catalogues and the American Home. Significant products and services represented in the documents in this resource include Department Store Catalogues; Fashion and Clothing; Bicycles; Home Furnishings and Furniture; Food; Household Appliances; Cosmetics; Home Remedies and Health; and Sports, Leisure and Outdoor Pursuits amongst many others. - Publisher
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
New
Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University. Includes manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, correspondence, photographs, postcards and ephemera, from 1818 to the 1970s. The geographical area covered by these diaries is far-reaching, with travel to countries within the British, French, Chinese and American empires and discussion of empire and nationalism, as well as description of the post-colonial world. A great variety of modes of transport are covered, including sea voyages, road trips, wagon trains and air travel.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...