Explore Your Topic
The following are examples of encyclopedias, handbooks, and annotated bibliographies that provide background information on your topic which you can use to focus your research question. These resources will also cite books and articles that can jump start your search for more specific research literature.
Reference EBook Collections
Search within these collections to identify reference sources and entries within these sources relevant to your topic.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering a wide-variety of subjects in the social sciences. Particularly strong for handbook coverage.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
Examples of Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Identity by Publication Date: 2010An overview of the definitions, politics, manifestations, concepts, and ideas related to identity. The entries include short biographies of major thinkers and leaders, as well as discussion of events, personalities, and concepts. 2 volumes.The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by
Publication Date: 2019Provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide.
Handbook of Gender Research in Psychology by ISBN: 9781441914651Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures 4th edition by Call Number: EBookPublication Date: 2019This classic and invaluable reference handbook, written for sex researchers and their students, has now been completely revised in a new, fourth edition. It remains the only easy and efficient way for researchers to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research. Earlier editions are available in print format:
2nd edition 1998
3rd edition 2011
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2018This handbook presents the most important theories about gender and methods used to study gender, as well as extensive coverage of the latest research on gender in the most important areas of social life, including gendered bodies, sexuality, carework, paid labor, social movements, incarceration, migration, gendered violence, and others.
1999 edition available in print format, Main Library Stacks 305.3 C433h
The Oxford Handbook of Sexual and Gender Minority Mental Health by Publication Date: 2020A comprehensive and authoritative review of research on the mental health of sexual minorities.
The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Women's Social Movement Activism by Publication Date: 2017Provides a comprehensive examination of scholarly research and knowledge on a variety of aspects of women's collective activism in the United States,tracing both continuities and critical changes over time.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Publication Date: 2016The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by ISBN: 9781544393810Publication Date: 2021This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), to specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), to key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter). Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries. Among the fields of studies covered are psychology, sociology, history, family studies, K-12 and higher education, law/political science, medicine, economics, literature, popular culture, the media, and sports.
Research Methods
- Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. – Publisher
Examples of titles included in the Sage Research Methods database:
- Feminist Measures in Survey Research (2013)
- Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory & Praxis (2012)
- Handbook of Critical & Indigenous Methodologies (2008)
- Gender & Qualitative Methods (2003)
Additional books on research methods, academic writing, and other aspects of graduate education can be found in NUSearch. One example of a book found using one of the subject headings from the following selective list is included:
- Academic writing
- Dissertations, academic
- Dissertations, writing
- Bisexuals -- Research -- Methodology
- Ethnology -- Methodology (substitute any subject term for "Ethnology")
- Feminism -- Research -- Methodology
- Gays -- Research -- Methodology
- Lesbians -- Research -- Methodology
- LGBTQ+ people -- Research
- LGBTQ+ people -- Statistics
- Masculinity -- Research -- Methodology
- Men -- Research -- Methodology
- Queer Theory
- Sexology -- Research
- Sexual Minorities -- Research
- Sexual Minorities -- Statistics
- Social sciences -- Research
- Social sciences -- Research -- Methodology
- Transgender people -- Research -- Methodology
- Women -- Research -- Methodology
Queer Methods and Methodologies by Call Number: Main Library Stacks 306.7601 Q3Publication Date: 2010Provides the first systematic consideration of the implications of a queer perspective in the pursuit of social scientific research.
EBook also available
Queer Data Studies by Call Number: Mathematics Library Stacks HQ73 .Q84 2023Publication Date: 2024"... Gathering wide-ranging interdisciplinary conversations into one rich volume, Queer Data Studies challenges readers to rethink how the extraction, circulation, modeling, governance, and use of data affects queer subjects and, at the same time, to consider how the power of data might be harnessed in the service of queer ethics."
- Archival Work as Qualitative Sociologyspecial issue on Archival Work as Qualitative Sociology in case you would like to add this resource to your tools/guides.
- AM Research Skills This link opens in a new windowAM Research Skills is an online learning tool for primary source literacy that can be used in classroom-based and online teaching. Comprising peer-reviewed essays, How-to guides and newly-commissioned video interviews, our learning tools introduce students to key concepts that underpin research in the humanities and social sciences, and share the core principles and practices for understanding and using primary sources. AM Research Methods includes hundreds of primary sources, drawn from AM Digital's archival partners across the globe. This diverse set of historical documents enables students to put their primary source literacy skills into practice. Over 140 case studies based on digitised sources demonstrate how to analyse, approach and interact with primary source material. Learn how subject experts work with specific types of sources such as correspondence, financial records and newspapers, or use source material to investigate themes such as revolution, indigenous histories or memory.
Northwestern Programs & Research Institutes
- Institute for Sexual and Gender Minority Health and WellbeingFirst research institute in U.S. that is focused exclusively on LGBT health.
- Sexualities Project at NorthwesternProject of the Gender & Sexuality Studies Program at Northwestern University.
Search Terminology
The language used to describe library, archival, and other cultural collections has been under scrutiny to ensure inclusiveness for several decades. The implementation of inclusive and respectful language is uneven and progress is incremental. Below are a few resources that may help you identify a range of terms to use when searching, keeping in mind that using a variety of synonyms for your research topic will be most effective, especially when searching in multiple databases and disciplines.
Northwestern University Libraries provides this Statement of Bias in Metadata along with information about our efforts to redress this bias.
- HomosaurusAn international linked data vocabulary of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) terms. This vocabulary is intended to function as a companion to broad subject term vocabularies, such as the Library of Congress Subject Headings
- Library of Congress Subject Headingsincludes all Library of Congress Subject Headings, free-floating subdivisions (topical and form), Genre/Form headings, Children's (AC) headings, and validation strings* for which authority records have been created.
- A Women's Thesaurus: An Index of Language Used to Describe and Locate Information by and About Women. byCall Number: Special Collections Femina Ref 025.49305 W872Publication Date: 1987Over 5,000 terms, not derived from the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Also at Oak Grove Library Center Request Online 025.49305 W872
- Women in LC's Terms byCall Number: Special Collections Femina Ref 025.49305 D5545wPublication Date: 1988"A guide to the Library of Congress (LC) subject headings used for women and topics of relevance to women's lives."
- LGBTQ+ Legal Resources: LC Subject HeadingsLibrary of Congress (LC) Subject Headings to use in NUSearch when researching LGBTQ+ legal issues - included as one page of a research guide created by the Library of Congress. These headings can be searched with or without the subdivisions that describe legal issues, and in combination with other keywords.
Your Librarian
Anne Zald
she/her
Contact:
Anne Zald
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
Subjects: Government Information; Regulatory Compliance; Gender & Sexuality Studies
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Make an Appointment
847-467-6441