Marjorie I. Mitchell Multimedia Center houses collection of VHS tapes, laserdiscs, DVDs and spoken word recordings.

[71 pg pdf] 2005

Image database that houses the Visual Media Collection digitization project and the Saskia Art Images collection.

Learn how to begin using the notation, sequencing, recording and scanning software the Music Lab offers.

An eclectic database with classical, jazz, rock, pop, show tunes, and folk music.

Audio Interviews (American Memory from the Library of Congress): seven hours of recorded interviews presented here took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine Southern states. Twenty-three interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom.

In 1991, Photo Friends and the Los Angeles Public Library sponsored the project “Shades of L.A.: A Search for Visual Ethnic History.” The six-year project involved copying thousands of family photographs throughout Los Angeles, thereby broadening the LAPL Photo Collection’s representation of ethnicities within the city.

University of Minnesota Libraries

An Exhibition of films from the Fox Movietone News Collection in the University Libraries Digital Collections, University of South Carolina.

Free access to written & spoken words, sound recordings, still & moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience by the Library of Congress.

Photo Archive from Associated Press' spot picture system. Over 3 million U.S. and international photos, from 1826 to present. Almost 200 per day are saved for all time, while others are archived for about one year. Also includes over 60,000 graphics, charts, and timelines.

A reposlitory of films and related materials by and about African Americans.

Music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture at Indiana University. Our goal is to promote black music by providing our readers with monthly updates on interesting new releases and quality reissues in all genres─ including gospel, blues, jazz, funk, soul, R&B, world music, and hip-hop—as well as classical music composed or performed by black artists. We feature reviews of some of the best new discs and DVDs, with an occasional book or news item thrown in for good measure. An extra effort is made to track down releases by indie, underground, foreign, and other small labels that don’t get covered in the mainstream media. Our primary focus is on African American music, but we’ll be happy to cover anything else that’s sent our way, from Afropop to reggae.

The Official Website of the National Black Programming Consortium

Department of Special Collections holds the Henry Hampton Collection, the William Miles Collection and the Frank Marshal Davis Collection.

Thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.

Co-founded in 2001 by Camille O. Cosby, Ed.D. and Renee Poussaint, The National Visionary Leadership Project (NVLP), a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization, unites generations to create tomorrow's leaders by recording, preserving, and distributing through various media, the wisdom of extraordinary African American elders - Visionaries - who have shaped American history. Some of these elders are nationally recognized leaders, who are interviewed on videotape by NVLP's co-founders and board members. Other Visionary elders, known primarily in their local communities, are selected and interviewed by NVLP college Fellows.

Unique newsreel footage within a large and significant news film library at the University of South Carolina.

SoulTracks is the leading online resource dedicated to classic and modern Soul Music. From its inception in 2003, SoulTracks has been designed to provide useful information and updates on the greatest Classic Soul artists and to introduce readers to the next generation of Soul Music singers.

Original footage documenting social, political, and cultural history as recorded by film & television news cameras.