Approximately 1,379 plays by 222 playwrights, and information about productions, advertising, etc., from the middle of the 19th century onward. Play texts & production elements are extensively indexed.

50,000 pages and some 8,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before. Compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors.

Alexander Street Press collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Full text of thousands of pages written by Black women writers from the United States from the 1900s through the 1970s, and from the Caribbean and Africa from the 1950s onward. Offers a collection of materials, previously not available on the Web and extremely difficult to locate in print.

Streaming audio from the Naxos and Fantasy Jazz labels. Contains over 22,000 tracks, including Ella Fitzgerald, Sonny Rollins, Thelonius Monk, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Charlie Parker and many more. Also see Naxos Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound & the Database of Recorded American Music.

Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Searchable collection of poems from African American poets of the 20th century. Some 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.

Primary source documents on topics in women's history and American social movements.