New Reference eBooks
-
Electronic Encyclopedia of Chicago
by
Call Number: Print copy: MAIN Reference 977.311 E56Publication Date: 2005Electronic version of the Encyclopedia of Chicago, with additional scholarly essays and more than 1300 digitized historical source documents. "The Encyclopedia of Chicago has been developed by the Newberry Library with the cooperation of the Chicago Historical Society."
General Resources
Reference Tools
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
-
Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowBiographies, bibliographies, discographies, anthologies, encyclopedias, images, lyrics, songsheets, chronologies, and Web resources covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, etc.
-
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National BibliographyJames P. Danky, editor (Wisconsin Historical Society). A description of more than 6,500 titles and their locations. This web site lists microfilmed newspapers and periodicals available for Interlibrary loan.
Electronic Reference Books
-
AtoZ of African American theaterHill, Anthony D. with Douglas Q. Barnett. Historical Dictionary of African American Theater. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2009.
-
African American almanacChristopher A. Brooks, editor. 11th ed. Detroit, MI: Gale, 2011.
-
African American cultureEditor Carl Rollyson. Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2012.
-
African American social leaders and activistsJack Rummel; revised by G.S. Prentzas. Rev. ed. New York: Facts On File, 2011. Series: A to Z of African Americans.
-
Bibliography of Negro migrationRoss, Frank Alexander and Louise Venable Kennedy. New York: B. Franklin, 1969. Free Download & Streaming: Internet Archive. Reprint of the 1934 ed./ "The fifth volume produced under the project Negro Migration, conducted in the Department of Sociology at Columbia University, under subsidy by the Social Science Research Council, and the Columbia University Council for Research in the Social Sciences."
-
Encyclopedia of African American actresses in film and televisionBy Bob McCann. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, Inc., 2010.
-
Encyclopedia of African American business historyEdited by Juliet E.K. Walker. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
-
Encyclopedia of African American culture and history: the Black experience in the AmericasColin A. Palmer, editor in chief. 2nd ed. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.
-
Encyclopedia of African American educationEdited by Kofi Lomotey. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, c2010.
-
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1619-1895 : from the colonial period to the age of Frederick DouglassEditor in chief, Paul Finkelman. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
-
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present: from the age of segregation to the twenty-first centuryEditor in chief, Paul Finkelman. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
-
Encyclopedia of African American musicEmmett G. Price III, executive editor; Tammy L. Kernodle and Horace J. Maxile, Jr., associate editors. Santa Barbara, C: ABC-CLIO, 2011.
-
Encyclopedia of African American popular cultureEd. by Jessie Carney Smith. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.
-
Encyclopedia of African-American heritageSusan Altman; special writing and research by Joel Kemelhor; consultants, Arnold H. Taylor, Debra Newman Ham, Arthur Bust. New York: Facts On File, 1997.
-
Encyclopedia of Black studiesEdited by Molefi Kete Asante and Ama Mazama. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2005.
-
Encyclopedia of diversity in educationEditor, James A. Banks. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
-
Encyclopedia of emancipation and abolition in the Transatlantic worldEdited by Junius Rodriguez. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2007. 3 v.; Full text available from CREDO reference
-
Encyclopedia of race and crimeHelen Greene and Shaun Gabbidon, Eds. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2009. 978 pp. 2 vols.
-
Encyclopedia of race and racism2nd ed. Patrick L. Mason, editor in chief. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013.
-
Encyclopedia of rap and hip-hop cultureBynoe, Yvonne. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
-
Places of the Underground Railroad: a geographical guideTom Calarco ; with Cynthia Vogel ... [et al.]. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011.
-
Slavery in the United States: a social, political, and historical encyclopediaJunius P. Rodriguez, ed. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2007.
-
Voices of historical and contemporary Black American pioneersEdited by Vernon L. Farmer and Evelyn Shepherd-Wynn; foreword, Benjamin S. Carson Sr.; afterword, Guion S. Guy Bluford Jr. Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger, 2012.
-
World of a Slave: Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the United States.Martha B. Katz-Hyman and Kym S. Rice, eds. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2011. 581 pp. 2 vols.