Jan 5, 1906 - Jun 30, 1917 (286 issues) [Google News Archive]

Jan 4, 1902 - Dec 26, 1992 (3,623 issues) [Google News Archive]

The Afro-American - National, the Afro-American Ledger, the Baltimore Afro-American and the Washington Afro-American have been digitized by Google.

1931-2003 [ProQuest Historical Newspapers]

Includes twenty issues of newspapers published by the Black Americans for Democracy (BAD), a student organization founded in the late 1960s. Active at the University of Arkansas during most of the 1970s, BAD published the newspaper between 1971 and 1977 under three different titles: The BAD Times, Black Americans for Democracy News, and Times (Black Americans for Democracy).

Jan 5, 1943 - Jan 24, 2003 (3,887 issues) [Google News Archive]

1967-1980 BPP Newspaper in the Black Thought and Culture database

Dec 1, 1825 - Jul 31, 1873 (241 issues) [Google News Archive]

Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress.

(Indianapolis) Jul 21, 1888 - Dec 25, 1915 (1,361 issues) [Google New Project]

Cornell University is fortunate enough to have a near complete run (281 issues) of the "Friend of Man" newspaper, which was published between 1836 and 1842. The paper documents the "regional interconnectedness of reform", with a focus on cities such as Utica, Rochester, Buffalo, Albany and New York City. Visitors to the site can browse through the various issues at their leisure and they can also perform a full-text search.

Pathfinders at Marist College

IUPUI University Library

The Los Angeles Sentinel is an African American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and it’s readers. Its a highly regarded paper that significantly influences the perceptions, attitudes and buying decisions of it’s readership. This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

Jan 4, 1947 - Dec 27, 1947 (52 issues) [Google News Archive]

Launched in the Summer of 1930, the Southern Worker was a semi-legal, semi-clandestine regional publication of the Communist Party, USA (CPUSA) targeted primarily to the black impoverished farmers and urban workers of the region.

Dec 26, 1916 - Jun 28, 1988 (1,599 issues) [Google News Archive]

Jul 1, 1975 - Dec 30, 1975 (34 issues) [Google News Archive]

Black News, Politics and Information

Covers Baltimore, MD, national news, Prince George's County (MD) news and Washington, D.C.

Association for the Study of African American Life and History, Inc.

African-American News, Business & Black Politics

Boston, MA

News and Events from The Black Star Project

Huffington Post

Lifestyle publication for African American women

California

- African American News | Black News | Black Entertainment | Black America OurWeekly LA was formed in 2004 as a means to reach the affluent African-American communities of Los Angeles with in-depth coverage on issues pertaining to African-Americans and the communities in which we live. With a readership of more than 200,000 weekly, the scope of the publication is to provide broad base coverage that is relevant to African-American readers that includes local, state, and national political and community news. In addition, the OurWeekly lifestyle sections provide in-depth coverage of art, culture, books, film, music, and entertainment news. Other sections include opinion, education, health, real estate, and classfieds.

Black News, Celebrity Videos, Entertainment, Business & Politics

SPORTS. CULTURE. LIFE...with the real

NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund

Your Source For All Black News

Supported by the Institute of Museum & Library Services under the Library Services & Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian. African American publications: Black Voice News (Riverside, 2006); Elevator (San Francisco, 1865-1898); and, Pacific Appeal (San Francisco, 1862-1880).

Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program.

Washington [D.C.] : L.P. Noble, Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 7, 1847)-v. 14, no. 690 (Mar. 22, 1860).

Free from The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, that offers permanent access to historical collections that exist in digital format. Includes CNN, Fox News, NBC News, PBS, and eyewitness news on local television stations.

University of South Carolina Libraries

Free directory of newspapers, magazines, television stations, colleges, visitor bureaus, governmental agencies and more.

18th- through Early 20th-century newspapers from the U.S., England, Scotland, Ireland & Australia.

Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present, funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities with technical assistance is furnished by the Library of Congress.

Most are scanned from microfilm into pdf, gif or similar graphic formats and many of the graphic archives have been indexed into searchable text databases utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) technology.