Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libraries with Jewish Studies collections
Holocaust Research, Education, and Remembrance Online (New York Public Library)
This guide outlines online resources for Holocaust education and remembrance, including research, curriculum, and multimedia resources. Published by the New York Public Library.
University of Pennsylvania
Includes a list of Judaic Studies resources, including a great list of funding sources for Jewish Studies.
The Middle East and Islamic Studies Library includes Jewish Studies internet resources. This resource is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Jewish Studies (in the broadest sense) available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the Middle East & Jewish Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.
University of Delaware
Includes a comprehensive list of Internet Resources on Jewish Studies including resources on the Holocaust, Israel, Hebrew and Yiddish, Jewish Literature, and Jewish History and Culture.
Jewish Theological Seminary Library
The Library is home to more than 400,000 volumes, making it the largest and most extensive collection of Hebraic and Judaic material in the western hemisphere.
Internet Resources on Judaism & Jewish Studies
Internet Jewish History Source Book
Subset of texts derived from three major online Sourcebooks, listed below, along with added texts and web site indicators: Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook, Medieval Jewish Section, Internet Modern History Sourcebook.
Bar Ilan University Jewish Studies
JSIJ is a peer-reviewed, electronic journal dealing with all fields of Jewish studies.
Internet Resources for the Study of Judaism and Christianity
This page lists a number of sites on the Internet that are useful for the study of Judaism and Christianity.
Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources in Judaism
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc. The purpose of the Guide is to encourage and facilitate the incorporation of electronic resources into teaching.
Includes nearly 200 citations for internet resources.
Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources in Biblical Studies
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc. The purpose of the Guide is to encourage and facilitate the incorporation of electronic resources into teaching. Includes 6 internet resources.
Project Genesis Web Site -- center for Jewish philosophy, Kabbalah, ethics and law
Sacred texts online
Largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet.
Israel National Library
In commemoration of the 800th anniversary of the death of Moses Maimonides, the Jewish National and University Library is proud to present to the public digital copies of Maimonides manuscripts and early printed editions from its collection. This project coincides with the Library's exhibit "The Great Eagle at the JNUL."
These works have been scanned in their entirety and are freely available for viewing.
ETANA - Electronic tools and ancient Near Eastern Archives
Consists of three main components: ABZU bibliographic database; core texts, in PDF format, including Marcus Jastrow’s A Dictionary of the Targumim, the Talmud Babli and Yerushalmi, and the Midrashic Literature and other classic texts; and links to archaeological projects. Joint project of the American Oriental Society, the American Schools of Oriental Research, Case Western Reserve University, Cobb Institute of Archaeology at Mississippi State, Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago
Diaries of Mordecai Kaplan
A project from the Jewish Theological Seminary Library, these diaries, written between 1913 and 1972 by the founder of the Reconstructionist movement in Judaism, include draft essays, lectures, and letters, as well as detailed accounts of meetings and events and other matters. Collection also includes miscellaneous letters, 1910, 1955, 1957; and program for celebration of Kaplan’s 70th birthday.
Internet Resources on Israel
Israel Legal System
The Law Library of Congress offers an excellent overview of the Israel legal system including resources in both print and online for legal decisions. Two of the online resources that contain many of the Supreme Court's rulings are Tadkin and Neveo, both of which are mentioned in the Library of Congress overview.
Major Jewish Organizations, Institutes and Academic Departments
American Jewish Committee
AJC has worked since 1906 to safeguard and strengthen Jews and Jewish life worldwide by promoting democratic and pluralistic societies that respect the dignity of all peoples
American Jewish Congress and AJCongress Online
The American Jewish Congress is an association of Jewish Americans organized to defend Jewish interests at home and abroad through public policy advocacy - using diplomacy, legislation, and the courts
American Jewish Historical Society
The American Jewish Historical Society provides access to more than 20 million documents and 50,000 books, photographs, art and artifacts that reflect the history of the Jewish presence in the United States from 1654 to the present
The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) fights anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry in the U.S. and abroad through information, education, legislation, and advocacy.
Association for Jewish Studies
Founded in 1969, the Association for Jewish Studies (AJS) is a learned society and professional organization that seeks to promote, maintain, and improve teaching and research in Jewish Studies at colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning
Center for Jewish History
Includes five institutions: The American Jewish Historical Society, The American Sephardi Federation, The Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
YIVO is dedicated to the study and preservation of the Eastern European Jewish heritage. Since its founding in 1925 YIVO has become the world's most important research institute and academic center for Eastern European Jewish Studies.