Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TV, Radio & Online News
- Google - News - Google News pulls together related headlines and photos from thousands of news sources worldwide. This enables you to see how different news organizations around the world report the same events. Stories are updated continuously, making this a useful source for breaking news.
- Public Broadcasting System - The PBS Web site offers highlights of news-related programs, including Frontline, POV, NOW, NewsHour, and NOVA. Transcripts, audio, and video files of previous broadcasts are available. Transcripts of NewsHour are also available via Lexis Nexis back to 1982.
Hebrew, Israeli & Jewish Newspapers
(lit. "The Land", originally Chadashot Ha'aretz - "News of the Land") is Israel's oldest daily newspaper. It was founded in 1918 and is now published in both Hebrew and English. The English edition is published and sold together with the International Herald Tribune. Both Hebrew and English editions can be read on the Internet. In North America, it comes out as a weekly newspaper, combining articles from the Friday edition with a roundup from the rest of the week.
Israel's most comprehensive, authoritative daily source for 24/7 breaking news & current events from Israel and Jewish content online.
has the most important German-Jewish periodicals in full-text. Compact Memory is a project jointly undertaken by three academic institutions. It offers actual reproductions of the most important research journals for German-Jewish history and genealogy research, covering the entire German-speaking world. Since some of these journals carried news about Jews in areas outside Germany as well, they are worth consulting for news of other locations, such as the United States and Russia.
American Jewish newspapers
American Memory project at the Library of Congress summarizes the history of the Jewish press in the United States (which published primarily in English and Yiddish but has also sustained publications in Hebrew, German, Ladino, and Russian).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text retrospective coverage of several U.S. newspapers, including: New York Times (1851-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Washington Post (1877-1992), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Boston Globe (1872-1925), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939).
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S.
America's Historical Newspapers
Provides full text of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers from all 50 states.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
Provides cover-to-cover, full-text access to every article, advertisement and illustration in hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Access World News
Provides full-text of many major national and regional newspapers from the United States and around the world. Use the clickable map to select a country or state to search.
Alternative Press Index
Comprehensive guide to over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Covers 1991-present. See the Alternative Press Index Archive for earlier material (1969-1990).
ProQuest National Newspapers
Provides references to articles (with some full text) in over 20 national newspapers. Most coverage goes back to the mid 1990s.
Nexis Uni features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
Database from Dow Jones & Reuters that provides full text access to various newspapers and news wire services. This database can be tricky to use, so be sure to ask for help if you run into problems.